SABR

SABR 42: Research Committee meetings

Here is the schedule for research committee meetings at SABR 42 — June 27-July 1, 2012, at the Marriott City Center in Minneapolis, Minnesota.

BALLPARKS
Stan Meradith, co-chair (smeradith@dlrgroup.com)
Gary Gillette, co-chair (ggillette@247baseball.com)
Jim Gordon, co-chair (JimBruin@roadrunner.com)
Wednesday, June 27, 5:30 p.m., Deer Room
Note: The Business of Baseball Committee will have a joint meeting with the Ballparks Committee from 5:30 to 7:00 p.m. on Wednesday, June 27 in the Deer Room. This will be a panel discussion focused on the development and financing of Target Field. The panel is scheduled to include: Dan Kenney, Minnesota Ballpark Authority Executive Director; Tom Goldstein, community activist and lawyer who opposes public subsidies for sports stadiums; Gary Gillette, co-author of Big League Ballparks and Editor of the ESPN Baseball Encyclopedia; and Stan Meradith, AIA, Principal of the DLR Group, a national integrated design firm with experience building ballparks. This promises to a very exciting discussion. All SABR members are invited to attend.

BASEBALL AND THE ARTS
Jeff Campbell, co-chair (hungryformusic@worldnet.att.net)
Joanne Hulbert, co-chair (jhulbert@earthlink.net)
Thursday, June 27, 4:30 p.m., Deer Room

BASEBALL RECORDS
Lyle Spatz, chair (lspatz@comcast.net)
Trent McCotter, vice-chair (treant985@gmail.com)
Friday, June 29, 8:00 a.m., Elk Room

BIBLIOGRAPHY
Andy McCue, chair (agmccue44@earthlink.net)
Robert McAfee, vice-chair (xerxes7@earthlink.net)
Thursday, June 28, 5:30 p.m., Elk Room

BIOGRAPHICAL RESEARCH
Bill Carle, chair (bbxpert@aol.com)
David Vincent, vice-chair (grandslams@aol.com)
Saturday, June 30, 8:00 a.m., Elk Room

BIOPROJECT
Mark Armour, director (markarmour04@gmail.com)
Thursday, June 28, 7:30 a.m., Deer Room

BLACK SOX SCANDAL
Jacob Pomrenke, chair (buckweaver@gmail.com)
Thursday, June 28, 6:00 p.m., Elk Room

BUSINESS OF BASEBALL
John Ruoff, co-chair (jruoff@bellsouth.net)
Steven Weingarden, co-chair (steveweingarden@gmail.com)
Wednesday, June 27, 5:30 p.m., Deer Room
Note: Please see the note above about the joint meeting between the Business of Baseball Committee and the Ballparks Committee.

COLLEGIATE BASEBALL
Karl Green, chair (greenk@mindspring.com)
Saturday, June 30, 3:00 p.m., Deer Room

DEADBALL ERA (1901-19)
John McMurray, chair (deadball@sabr.org)
Trey Strecker, vice-chair (tstrecker@bsu.edu)
Thursday, June 28, 4:30 p.m., Elk Room

GAMES AND SIMULATIONS
Steve Krevisky, chair (sakrevisky@sbcglobal.net)
Saturday, June 30, 5:00 p.m., Elk Room

LATINO BASEBALL
Edwin Fernandez, chair (efernan0247@gmail.com)
Claudia Perry, vice-chair (winenegress@gmail.com)
Saturday, June 30, 11:00 a.m., Elk Room

MINOR LEAGUES
Joe Werner, co-chair (J_Werner92@ymail.com)
Joe Wancho, co-chair (jw2462@sbcglobal.net)
Saturday, June 30, 2:00 p.m., Elk Room

NEGRO LEAGUES
Dick Clark, co-chair (tstearnes@comcast.net)
Larry Lester, co-chair (NTResearch@comcast.net)
Saturday, June 30, 8:00 a.m., Deer Room

NINETEENTH CENTURY
Peter Mancuso, chair (peterplus4@earthlink.net)
Bob Bailey, vice-chair (bobbailey@cox.net)
Saturday, June 30, 2:00 p.m., Deer Room

ORAL HISTORY
Tom Willman, chair (t_willman@sbcglobal.net)
Friday, June 29, 5:00 p.m., Deer Room

ORIGINS
Lawrence McCray, chair (lmccray@mit.edu)
Saturday, June 30, 5:00 p.m., Deer Room

PICTORIAL HISTORY
Bill Hickman, chair (bdhickmn@aol.com)
Cary Smith, vice-chair (zinnbeck@aol.com)
Thursday, June 28, 5:30 p.m., Deer Room

RETROSHEET
David W. Smith, president (dwsmith@retrosheet.org)
Saturday, June 30, 11:00 a.m., Deer Room

SCOUTS
Rod Nelson, co-chair (rodericnelson@gmail.com)
Jim Sandoval, co-chair (jrsandoval@aol.com)
Friday, June 29, 8:00 a.m., Elk Room

STATISTICAL ANALYSIS
Clem Comly, co-chair (ccomly@comcast.net)
Neal Traven, co-chair (beisbol@alumni.pitt.edu)
Thursday, June 28, 6:30 p.m., Elk Room

UMPIRES AND RULES
Rodney Johnson, chair (SABRRodney@aol.com)
Saturday, June 30, 3:00 p.m., Elk Room

UNION PROJECT
Gary Gillette, chair (ggillette@247baseball.com)
Thursday, June 28, 7:30 a.m., Elk Room

WOMEN IN BASEBALL
Leslie Heaphy, co-chair (lheaphy@kent.edu)
Justine Siegal, co-chair (justinebaseball@gmail.com)
Thursday, June 28, 6:30 p.m., Deer Room

For more details on SABR 42, visit SABR.org/convention.

Individual Memberships start at just $45/year

Become A Member Today

When you join SABR you are making a statement of support for baseball history. You are joining a worldwide community of people who love to read about, talk about and write about baseball.