SABR

SABR 43: Research Committee meetings

Here is the schedule for research committee meetings at SABR 43 — July 31-August 4, 2013, at the Philadelphia Marriott Downtown in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.

 

BALLPARKS
Stan Meradith, co-chair (smeradith@dlrgroup.com)
Gary Gillette, co-chair (ggillette@247baseball.com)
Jim Gordon, co-chair (JimBruin@roadrunner.com)
Saturday, August 3, 1:00 p.m., Room 401/403

BASEBALL AND THE ARTS
Jeff Campbell, co-chair (hungryformusic@worldnet.att.net)
Joanne Hulbert, co-chair (jhulbert@earthlink.net)
Friday, August 2, 11:00 a.m., Room 401/403

BASEBALL AND THE MEDIA
Chuck Hildebrandt, chair (chuck.sabr@gmail.com)
John McMurray, vice-chair (Mcmurrayj@aol.com)
Saturday, August 3, 7:00 a.m., Room 401/403

  • To download the agenda for the Baseball and the Media Committee's SABR 43 meeting, click here (PDF)

BASEBALL CARD HISTORY AND INFLUENCE
Michael Eisner, co-chair (eisnerwizard@aol.com)
Timothy Ponisciak, co-chair (tponisci@hotmail.com)
Wednesday, July 31, 6:30 p.m., Room 401/403

BASEBALL RECORDS
Lyle Spatz, chair (lspatz@comcast.net)
Trent McCotter, vice-chair (treant985@gmail.com)
Thursday, August 1, 5:45 p.m., Room 401/403

BIBLIOGRAPHY
Andy McCue, chair (agmccue44@earthlink.net)
Robert McAfee, vice-chair (xerxes7@earthlink.net)
Saturday, August 3, 5:45 p.m., Room 407/409

BIOGRAPHICAL RESEARCH
Bill Carle, chair (bbxpert@aol.com)
David Vincent, vice-chair (grandslams@aol.com)
Saturday, August 3, 7:00 a.m., Room 407/409

BIOPROJECT
Mark Armour, director (markarmour04@gmail.com)
Thursday, August 1, 11:30 a.m., Room 401/403

BLACK SOX SCANDAL 
Jacob Pomrenke, chair (buckweaver@gmail.com)
Friday, August 2, 11:00 a.m., Salon E, 5th floor

  • Note: The Black Sox Scandal Committee will host a panel discussion to commemorate the 50th anniversary of Eight Men Out. Panelists are expected to include Patricia Anderson, niece and surrogate daughter of Buck Weaver; Dr. David Fletcher, founder and president of the Chicago Baseball Museum; Bill Lamb, author of Black Sox in the Courtroom; and moderator Jacob Pomrenke, chair of the SABR Black Sox Scandal Committee.

BUSINESS OF BASEBALL
Michael Haupert, co-chair (mhaupert@uwlax.edu)
Steven Weingarden, co-chair (steveweingarden@gmail.com)
Friday, August 2, 5:00 p.m., Room 401/403

  • Learn how to conduct business of baseball research at large archives! Find the treasures that can drive your research. The SABR Business of Baseball committee and Librarian Caucus have teamed together and will feature a roundtable-style discussion with experts from the National Baseball Hall of Fame and the National Archives at Philadelphia. Find out how to prepare for your site visit; build a top-notch exploration plan; deal with challenges in the archives; stay true to archival etiquette; and conclude your visit. Tom Shieber (National Baseball Hall of Fame) and Jefferson Moak (NARA) will share their knowledge, information about their collections, and will answer your questions. Additionally, insider information will be available from the Historical Society of Pennsylvania.

COLLEGIATE BASEBALL
Karl Green, chair (greenk@mindspring.com)
Thursday, August 1, 6:45 p.m., Room 401/403

DEADBALL ERA (1901-19)
John McMurray, chair (deadball@sabr.org)
Trey Strecker, vice-chair (tstrecker@bsu.edu)
Friday, August 2, 5:00 p.m., Room 407/409

EDUCATIONAL RESOURCES
Andy Andres, chair (Andy.Andres@Post.Harvard.edu)
Bill Nowlin, vice-chair (bnowlin@rounder.com)
Thursday, August 1, 6:45 p.m., Room 407/409

GAMES AND SIMULATIONS
Steve Krevisky, chair (sakrevisky@sbcglobal.net)
Sunday, August 4, 10:00 a.m., Room 401/403

MINOR LEAGUES
Joe Werner, co-chair (J_Werner92@ymail.com)
Joe Wancho, co-chair (jw2462@sbcglobal.net)
Friday, August 2, 8:00 a.m., Room 407/409

NEGRO LEAGUES
Dick Clark, co-chair (tstearnes@comcast.net)
Larry Lester, co-chair (NTResearch@comcast.net)
Saturday, August 3, 5:45 p.m., Room 401/403

NINETEENTH CENTURY
Peter Mancuso, chair (peterplus4@earthlink.net)
Bob Bailey, vice-chair (bobbailey@cox.net)
Thursday, August 1, 11:30 a.m., Room 407/409

ORAL HISTORY 
Tom Willman, chair (t_willman@sbcglobal.net)
Thursday, August 1, 7:30 a.m., Room 401/403

ORIGINS
Lawrence McCray, chair emeritus (lmccray@mit.edu)
Saturday, August 3, 9:00 a.m., Room 407/409

PICTORIAL HISTORY
T. Scott Brandon, co-chair (t_scott_brandon@msn.com)
Mark Fimoff, co-chair (bmarlowe@comcast.net)
Cary Smith, co-chair (zinnbeck@aol.com)
Friday, August 2, 7:00 a.m., Room 407/409

RETROSHEET
David W. Smith, president (dwsmith@retrosheet.org)
Friday, August 2, 7:00 a.m., Room 401/403

SCIENCE AND BASEBALL
Eric Van, chair (emvan@post.harvard.edu)
Saturday, August 3, 1:00 p.m., Room 407/409

SCOUTS
Rod Nelson, chair (rodericnelson@gmail.com)
Saturday, August 3, 9:00 a.m., Room 401/403

SPRING TRAINING
Mark Rappaport, chair (mrappapo34@hotmail.com)
Wednesday, July 31, 5:30 p.m., Room 401/403

STATISTICAL ANALYSIS
Clem Comly, co-chair (ccomly@comcast.net)
Neal Traven, co-chair (beisbol@alumni.pitt.edu)
Friday, August 2, 8:00 a.m., Room 401/403

WOMEN IN BASEBALL
Leslie Heaphy, co-chair (lheaphy@kent.edu)
Justine Siegal, co-chair (justinebaseball@gmail.com)
Thursday, August 1, 5:45 p.m., Room 407/409

 

Some committees have not scheduled meetings yet. Please check back for updates.

For more details on SABR 43, visit SABR.org/convention.

Individual Memberships start at just $45/year

Become A Member Today

When you join SABR you are making a statement of support for baseball history. You are joining a worldwide community of people who love to read about, talk about and write about baseball.