SABR

SABR 44: Research Committee meetings

Research presentations Schedule of events Committee meetings
Poster presentations Featured speakers Vendors Room
Information Photo galleries #SABR44 on Twitter

 

Here is the tentative schedule for research committee meetings at SABR 44 — July 30-August 3, 2014, at the Royal Sonesta Houston in Houston, Texas.

Register today to join us! All baseball fans are welcome to attend.

 

BALLPARKS
Stan Meradith, co-chair (smeradith@dlrgroup.com)
Gary Gillette, co-chair (ggillette@247baseball.com)
Jim Gordon, co-chair (JimBruin@roadrunner.com)
Saturday, August 2, 8:00 a.m., Champions VI/VII

BASEBALL AND THE ARTS
Jeff Campbell, co-chair (hungryformusic@worldnet.att.net)
Joanne Hulbert, co-chair (jhulbert@earthlink.net)
Wednesday, July 30, 6:30 p.m., Champions VI/VII

BASEBALL AND THE MEDIA
Chuck Hildebrandt, chair (chuck.sabr@gmail.com)
John McMurray, vice-chair (Mcmurrayj@aol.com)
Saturday, August 2, 8:00 a.m., Champions I/II

BASEBALL RECORDS
Lyle Spatz, chair (lspatz@comcast.net)
Trent McCotter, vice-chair (treant985@gmail.com)
Saturday, August 2, 7:00 a.m., Champions I/II

BIBLIOGRAPHY/BASEBALL INDEX PROJECT
Andy McCue, chair (agmccue44@earthlink.net)
Robert McAfee, vice-chair (xerxes7@earthlink.net)
Thursday, July 31, 4:15 p.m., Champions VI/VII

BIOGRAPHICAL RESEARCH
Bill Carle, chair (bbxpert@aol.com)
David Vincent, vice-chair (grandslams@aol.com)
Saturday, August 2, 7:00 a.m., Champions VI/VII

BIOPROJECT
Mark Armour, director (markarmour04@gmail.com)
Thursday, July 31, 7:30 a.m., Champions I/II

BLACK SOX SCANDAL 
Jacob Pomrenke, chair (buckweaver@gmail.com)
Friday, August 1, 5:30 p.m., Champions I/II

BUSINESS OF BASEBALL
Michael Haupert, co-chair (mhaupert@uwlax.edu)
Steven Weingarden, co-chair (steveweingarden@gmail.com)
Wednesday, July 30, 6:30 p.m., Champions I/II

COLLEGIATE BASEBALL
Karl Green, chair (greenk@mindspring.com)
Thursday, July 31, 5:15 p.m., Champions VI/VII
Expected guests: Mike Gustafson, Executive Director of the National College Baseball Hall of Fame

DEADBALL ERA (1901-19)
John McMurray, chair (deadball@sabr.org)
Trey Strecker, vice-chair (tstrecker@bsu.edu)
Friday, August 1, 7:00 a.m., Champions I/II

EDUCATIONAL RESOURCES
Andy Andres, chair (Andy.Andres@Post.Harvard.edu)
Bill Nowlin, vice-chair (bnowlin@rounder.com)
Friday, August 1, 6:30 p.m., Champions V  

GAMES AND SIMULATIONS
Steve Krevisky, chair (sakrevisky@sbcglobal.net)
Thursday, July 31, 4:00 p.m., Champions V

LATINO BASEBALL
Anthony Salazar, chair (salazar8017@yahoo.com)
Thursday, July 31, 5:15 p.m., Champions I/II

MINOR LEAGUES
Joe Werner, co-chair (J_Werner92@ymail.com)
Joe Wancho, co-chair (jw2462@sbcglobal.net)
Thursday, July 31, 7:30 a.m., Champions VI/VII

NEGRO LEAGUES
Dick Clark, co-chair (tstearnes@comcast.net)
Larry Lester, co-chair (NTResearch@comcast.net)
Friday, August 1, 6:30 p.m., Champions VI/VII

NINETEENTH CENTURY
Peter Mancuso, chair (peterplus4@earthlink.net)
Bob Bailey, vice-chair (bobbailey@cox.net)
Thursday, July 31, 6:15 p.m., Champions VI/VII

ORAL HISTORY
Paul Ringel, co-chair (pbringel@gmail.com)
Justin Murphy, co-chair (jdmurphy315@yahoo.com)
Thursday, July 31, 7:30 a.m., Champions V

ORIGINS
Lawrence McCray, chair emeritus (lmccray@mit.edu)
Friday, August 1, 6:30 p.m., Champions I/II

PICTORIAL HISTORY
T. Scott Brandon, co-chair (t_scott_brandon@msn.com)
Mark Fimoff, co-chair (bmarlowe@comcast.net)
Cary Smith, co-chair (zinnbeck@aol.com)
Friday, August 1, 5:30 p.m., Champions VI/VII

RETROSHEET
David W. Smith, president (dwsmith@retrosheet.org)
Thursday, July 31, 6:15 p.m., Champions I/II

SCIENCE AND BASEBALL
Eric Van, chair (emvan@post.harvard.edu)
Thursday, July 31, 4:15 p.m., Champions I/II

SCOUTS
Rod Nelson, chair (rodericnelson@gmail.com)
Friday, August 1, 7:00 a.m., Champions V

STATISTICAL ANALYSIS
Phil Birnbaum, chair (birnbaum@sympatico.ca)
Friday, August 1, 7:00 a.m., Champions VI/VII

WOMEN IN BASEBALL
Leslie Heaphy, co-chair (lheaphy@kent.edu)
Justine Siegal, co-chair (justinebaseball@gmail.com)
Friday, August 1, 5:30 p.m., Legends IV/VII (immediately following panel discussion)

 

Some committees have not scheduled meetings yet. Please check back for updates.

For more details on SABR 44, visit SABR.org/convention.

Individual Memberships start at just $45/year

Become A Member Today

When you join SABR you are making a statement of support for baseball history. You are joining a worldwide community of people who love to read about, talk about and write about baseball.