2012 Fielding Bible Awards announced

From SABR member John Dewan at ACTA Sports on October 25, 2012:

THE 2012 FIELDING BIBLE AWARDS have been officially announced. Yadier Molina reclaims the award at catcher that he had won every year since 2007 before Matt Wieters took it away last season.

Joining Molina as repeat winners are Mark Buehrle (his fourth consecutive) and Adrian Beltre (his fourth also). First time winners are Mark Teixeira, Darwin Barney, Brendan Ryan, Alex Gordon, Mike Trout, and Jason Heyward.

A panel of 10 analysts, listed below—including Peter Gammons, Bill James, Joe Posnanski, and Doug Glanville—examined the 2012 seasons of every defensive player in Major League Baseball and then used the same voting technique as the Major League Baseball MVP voting. First place votes received 10 points, second place 9 points, third place 8 points, etc. A perfect score was 100. A complete record of their votes can be found in The Bill James Handbook 2013.

One important distinction that differentiates THE FIELDING BIBLE AWARDS from most other baseball awards, such as the Gold Gloves, is that there is only one winner at each position instead of separate winners for each league. The goal of THE FIELDING BIBLE AWARDS is to stand up and say: "Here is the best fielder at this position in Major League Baseball last season." Another key feature of the system is that it also recognizes the runners-up for each position, instead of just focusing on the winners.

Here are the results of THE 2012 FIELDING BIBLE AWARDS.

Read the full article here:

This page was last updated October 25, 2012 at 2:48 pm MST.

Individual Memberships start at just $45/year

Become A Member Today

When you join SABR you are making a statement of support for baseball history. You are joining a worldwide community of people who love to read about, talk about and write about baseball.