Simon: Looking back at Orel Hershiser's record-setting scoreless streak

From SABR member Mark Simon at on August 30, 2013:

Friday, Aug. 30, marks the 25th anniversary of the beginning of Orel Hershiser's Major League record-setting 59-consecutive-innings scoreless streak.

To commemorate that remarkable streak, we go inside the numbers and get the thoughts of those who were there when it happened.


The major league record for longest scoreless streak had been 58 innings.

The previous record was established by Don Drysdale of the Dodgers in 1968.

Drysdale broke a 55-year-old record, 55 2/3 innings, set by Walter Johnson of the Washington Senators in 1913.



Hershiser had a scoreless streak of 33 2/3 innings in his rookie season of 1984.

The Elias Sports Bureau notes that over the past 50 years, only two other pitchers had multiple streaks of at least 33 2/3 scoreless innings: Gaylord Perry (40 innings in 1967 and 39 innings in 1970) and Luis Tiant (41 innings in 1968 and 40 innings in 1972).

Read the full article here:

This page was last updated August 30, 2013 at 1:02 pm MST.

Individual Memberships start at just $45/year

Become A Member Today

When you join SABR you are making a statement of support for baseball history. You are joining a worldwide community of people who love to read about, talk about and write about baseball.