Prelude to the Formation of the American Association

By Brock Helander

This article was published in the 2013 The National Pastime.

Six of the eight most populous cities in the United States were not represented in the National League for the baseball season of 1881. New York, Philadelphia, Brooklyn, St. Louis, Baltimore, and Cincinnati were not members of the League, which included only two charter members (Chicago and Boston) and teams from the smaller cities of Cleveland, Buffalo, Detroit, Providence, Worcester, and Troy. Nonetheless, independent teams throughout the United States enjoyed both popularity and financial success and the need for a second major league became obvious. The prelude to the . . .

This full article is available to all SABR members. Log in below, or learn more about joining SABR!

If you are already a member and need your password reset, please use the password reset form

Enter your SABR username.
Enter the password that accompanies your username.
Individual Memberships start at just $45/year

Become A Member Today

When you join SABR you are making a statement of support for baseball history. You are joining a worldwide community of people who love to read about, talk about and write about baseball.