This Week in SABR: April 8, 2011

Opening Day has arrived, and it's been an exciting week at SABR, as well. Here's an update of what we've been up to as of April 8, 2011:

SABR office opens in Phoenix, adds to staff

After two decades in Cleveland, Ohio, SABR's new office opened on April 4 at our new address:

4455 East Camelback Road, Ste. D-140
Phoenix, AZ 85018

SABR President Andy McCue wrote in January: "Given SABR’s long history as a Cleveland-based organization, we went through a months-long process to determine if a move would benefit the Society, as well as to determine the best alternatives. While we considered many locations, the two most favorable alternatives to Cleveland were New York and Phoenix. New York would be an excellent choice, and we will have an ongoing presence there, but it proved to be too expensive for an office. Phoenix is approximately the same cost as Cleveland, and as mentioned above, it offers a much stronger connection to the baseball world. In Phoenix, SABR will have the opportunity to be a major player in the baseball world year-round."

SABR also announced the hiring of two new staff members, Jim Cassandro as Director of Operations and Deborah Jayne as Director of Membership Services. You can learn more about them by clicking here.

'1921' wins the Seymour Medal

1921: The Yankees, the Giants, and the Battle for Baseball Supremacy in New York, written by SABR members Lyle Spatz and Steve Steinberg and published by the University of Nebraska Press, is the winner of the 2011 Seymour Medal, which honors the best book of baseball history or biography published during the preceding calendar year.

The authors will receive their medal at the Seymour Medal Conference, May 13-14 at the Radisson Hotel Gateway in Cleveland, Ohio. (For a schedule of events and registration information, click here.) 

'Native American Son' wins the Larry Ritter Award

Native American Son: The Life and Sporting Legend of Jim Thorpe, written by Kate Buford and published by Alfred A. Knopf, is the winner of the 2011 Larry Ritter Award, given by SABR's Deadball Era Committee to the best book related to the Deadball Era published in the previous year.

The award will be presented during the Deadball Era Committee's meeting at the SABR convention, July 6-10 in Southern California.

SABR, University of Nebraska Press partner for 6-book series

SABR and the University of Nebraska Press will continue their longstanding partnership through a new six-book series, "The Memorable Teams in Baseball History."

The books, written by SABR members as part of the Baseball Biography Project, will focus on iconic teams with an unquestionable legacy in baseball history. Each book will collect essays detailing the players, moments, and games that define these teams. The essays will bring together contributions of many SABR writers and devoted fans who share passions for these teams and wish to relive those memorable seasons.

The University of Nebraska Press plans to publish the series' first two books in the spring of 2012.

1918 box scores now available at Retrosheet

David W. Smith announced that Retrosheet has updated some portions of its website, the main addition being box scores for the 1918 season. These have been posted at in what is now its standard format, based on the official daily totals. The files have the full range of links to teams, players and umpires as do all the other box score files. See:

The game log file for 1918 has been expanded to incorporate this new information, as well, and it is available in the usual place:

Tom Ruane led the way on this project, and several volunteers assisted in digitizing the daily records: Dave Lamoureaux, Walter LeConte, Ron Weaver and Ron Wargo.

In other recent SABR news: