SABR 48: Committee Meetings

Research presentations Schedule of events Committee meetings
Poster presentations Featured speakers Vendors Room

 

Here is the schedule for research committee meetings at SABR 48 — June 20-24, 2018, at the Wyndham Grand hotel in downtown Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. Committee meetings are open to all convention attendees.

Click on a link below to learn more about SABR's research committees. For more information on SABR 48, or to register, visit SABR.org/convention.

 

BALLPARKS
Ron Selter, co-chair (rselter@att.net)
Friday, June 22, 8:00 a.m., Grand Ballroom 3

BASEBALL AND THE ARTS
Joanne Hulbert, co-chair (jhulbert@earthlink.net)
Saturday, June 23, 2:15 p.m., Grand Ballroom 3

BASEBALL CARDS
Mark Armour, co-chair (markarmour04@gmail.com)
Chris Dial, co-chair (pfeiffer86@gmail.com)
Thursday, June 21, 1:45 p.m., Grand Ballroom 1
* Guest speaker: Tom Shieber, Senior Curator, National Baseball Hall of Fame Library, and 2018 Henry Chadwick Award recipient. 

BASEBALL INDEX PROJECT
Andy McCue, chair (agmccue44@earthlink.net)
Thursday, June 21, 1:45 p.m., Grand Ballroom 3

BASEBALL RECORDS
Trent McCotter, chair (treant985@gmail.com)
Saturday, June 23, 4:30 p.m., Grand Ballroom 1
* Guest speakers: Tom Ruane of Retrosheet.org on proofing old Deadball Era statistics and Herm Krabbenhoft on a batting counterpart to Johnny Vander Meer's consecutive no-hitters record. 

BIOGRAPHICAL RESEARCH
Bill Carle, chair (bbxpert@aol.com)
Saturday, June 23, 7:00 a.m., Grand Ballroom 2

BIOPROJECT
Rory Costello, co-director (rcostello@nyc.rr.com)
Gregory H. Wolf, co-director (ghwolf1967@gmail.com)
Saturday, June 23, 10:25 a.m., Grand Ballroom 1

BLACK SOX SCANDAL
Jacob Pomrenke, chair (buckweaver@gmail.com)
Thursday, June 21, 6:40 p.m., Grand Ballroom 3
* Guest speaker: Mary Darling, Albuquerque-based screenwriter on her new play that follows Pittsburgh Pirates pitcher Red Oldham to the outlaw Copper League in New Mexico with banished ballplayers Hal Chase, Chick Gandil, Buck Weaver, and Lefty Williams.

BUSINESS OF BASEBALL
Michael Haupert, co-chair (mhaupert@uwlax.edu)
Steven Weingarden, co-chair (steveweingarden@gmail.com)
Saturday, June 23, 2:15 p.m., Grand Ballroom 1
* Guest speaker: Dick Bosman, former major-league pitcher and co-author (with Ted Leavengood) of Dick Bosman on Pitching: Lessons from the Life of a Major League Ballplayer and Pitching Coach

COLLEGIATE BASEBALL
Karl Green, chair (atlcrackersfan@gmail.com)
Saturday, June 23, 7:00 a.m., Grand Ballroom 1

DEADBALL ERA (1901-19)
John McMurray, chair (deadball@sabr.org)
Saturday, June 23, 5:30 p.m., Grand Ballroom 1
* Guest speaker: Jim Leeke, this year's Larry Ritter Book Award winner for From the Dugouts to the Trenches: Baseball During the Great War.

EDUCATIONAL RESOURCES
Herb Wilson, co-chair (whwilson@colby.edu)
Friday, June 22, 8:00 a.m., Grand Ballroom 2

GAMES PROJECT
Mike Huber, chair (huber@muhlenberg.edu)
Thursday, June 21, 7:30 a.m., Grand Ballroom 2

GAMES AND SIMULATIONS
Joseph Runde, co-chair (josephrunde@gmail.com)
Richard Bergstrom, co-chair (rwbergstrom@gmail.com)
Saturday, June 23, 4:30 p.m., Grand Ballroom 2

LATINO BASEBALL
Adrian Burgos Jr., acting chair (nycubans1947@aol.com)
Thursday, June 21, 6:40 p.m., Grand Ballroom 4

MINOR LEAGUES
Karl Green, acting chair (atlcrackersfan@gmail.com)
Thursday, June 21, 7:30 a.m., Grand Ballroom 3

NEGRO LEAGUES
Larry Lester, chair (larrylester42@gmail.com)
Friday, June 22, 8:00 a.m., Grand Ballroom 1
* Guest speaker: Clem Axel Paredes, Cuban writer and tour operator on Hall of Famer Cristóbal Torriente.

NINETEENTH CENTURY
Peter Mancuso, chair (peterplus4@earthlink.net)
Bob Bailey, vice-chair (bobbailey@cox.net)
Saturday, June 23, 10:25 a.m., Grand Ballroom 2

OFFICIAL SCORING
Stew Thornley, chair (stew@stewthornley.net)
Thursday, June 21, 7:30 a.m., Grand Ballroom 1
* Guest speakers: Bob Webb and Evan Pattak, Pittsburgh Pirates official scorers.

ORAL HISTORY
John McMurray, chair (sabroralhistorycommittee@gmail.com)
Saturday, June 23, 2:15 p.m., Grand Ballroom 2
* Guest speaker: Anne Keene, author of The Cloudbuster Nine: The Untold Story of Ted Williams and the Baseball Team That Helped Win World War II.

PICTORIAL HISTORY
Cary Smith, co-chair (zinnbeck@me.com)
Saturday, June 23, 4:30 p.m., Grand Ballroom 3

RETROSHEET
David W. Smith, president (dwsmith@retrosheet.org)
Saturday, June 23, 2:15 p.m., Grand Ballroom 4

SCIENCE AND BASEBALL
Eric Van, chair (emvan@post.harvard.edu)
Saturday, June 23, 5:30 p.m., Grand Ballroom 2

STATISTICAL ANALYSIS
Phil Birnbaum, chair (birnbaum@sympatico.ca)
Saturday, June 23, 10:25 a.m., Grand Ballroom 3

WOMEN IN BASEBALL
Leslie Heaphy, co-chair (lheaphy@kent.edu)
Thursday, June 21, 1:45 p.m., Grand Ballroom 2
* Guest speaker: A.J. Richard, founder of the Women Belong in Baseball networking group and Baseball For All volunteer. Perry Barber will also be presented with the inaugural Dorothy Seymour Mills Lifetime Achievement Award.

 

Some committees have not scheduled their annual meetings at this time. Please check back soon for updated listings.

For more information on SABR 48, visit SABR.org/convention.