2013 Rawlings Gold Glove Award winners announced

Beginning in 2013, the Rawlings Gold Glove Awards for the first time included a statistical component, the SABR Defensive Index™ (SDI™), in the selection process. The Gold Glove winners were announced on ESPN’s “Baseball Tonight” on Tuesday, October 29.

Here are the winners of the 2013 Rawlings Gold Glove Awards, announced Tuesday night:

Position AL Player Award     NL Player Award
P R.A. Dickey 1st     Adam Wainwright 2nd
C Salvador Perez 1st     Yadier Molina 6th
1B Eric Hosmer 1st     Paul Goldschmidt 1st
2B Dustin Pedroia 3rd     Brandon Phillips 4th
SS J.J. Hardy 2nd     Andrelton Simmons 1st
3B Manny Machado 1st     Nolan Arenado 1st
LF Alex Gordon 3rd     Carlos Gonzalez 3rd
CF Adam Jones 3rd     Carlos Gomez 1st
RF Shane Victorino 4th     Gerardo Parra 2nd


The SABR Defensive Index draws on and aggregates two types of existing defensive metrics: those derived from batted ball, location-based data and those collected from play-by-play accounts. The three metrics representing batted ball data include Defensive Runs Saved from Baseball Info Solutions, Ultimate Zone Rating developed by noted sabermetrician Mitchel Lichtman, and Runs Effectively Defended built by SABR Defensive Committee member Chris Dial. The two metrics included in the SDI originating from play-by-play data are Defensive Regression Analysis, created by committee member Michael Humphreys, and Total Zone Rating.

The SABR Defensive Index accounts for 30 total “votes” — or approximately 25 percent of the Rawlings Gold Glove Award selection process — that was added to the votes from the managers and coaches.

Rawlings revealed the revised selection process overview in March as part of its new collaboration with SABR. Since that announcement, SABR enlisted an independent committee of experts in baseball analytics and defensive measurement to devise the SDI. The SABR Defensive Committee includes:

  • Committee chair Vince Gennaro, SABR President and author of Diamond Dollars: The Economics of Winning in Baseball
  • Sean Forman, founder of Baseball-Reference.com
  • John Dewan, owner of Baseball Info Solutions
  • Bo Moon, executive vice president and co-founder of Bloomberg Sports
  • Chris Dial, author and recognized expert on defensive metrics
  • Michael Humphreys, author of Wizardry: Baseball’s All-Time Greatest Fielders Revealed
  • F.X. Flinn, SABR board of directors

For more details on the new SABR Defensive Index, click here.


Vote for Rawlings Platinum Glove Award winners:

In 2011, Rawlings also introduced the Rawlings Platinum Glove Award to honor the best defender in each League among the Rawlings Gold Glove Award winners in each season.

The SDI’s ability to accurately compare players from different positions will help determine the updated Rawlings Platinum Glove Award, presented by SABR. Fans will continue to have a voice during this process, and can cast their vote for the Rawlings Platinum Glove Award winners.

St. Louis catcher Yadier Molina and Texas third baseman Adrian Beltre won their respective league’s Rawlings Platinum Glove Award in each of the past two seasons.

Related links:

Originally published: October 29, 2013. Last Updated: October 29, 2013.