Al Helfer named 2019 Ford C. Frick Award winner

From the Baseball Hall of Fame on December 12, 2018:

Al Helfer, who called games for eight teams and became nationally renowned for his radio work on the Mutual Game of the Day in the 1950s, has been selected as the 2019 recipient of the Ford C. Frick Award, presented annually for excellence in broadcasting by the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum.

Helfer will be recognized posthumously during the Hall of Fame Awards Presentation on Saturday, July 20, as part of Hall of Fame Weekend 2019. Helfer becomes the 43rd winner of the Frick Award, as he earned the highest point total in a vote conducted by the Hall of Fame’s 15-member Frick Award Committee.

The final ballot featured broadcasters whose main contributions were realized as broadcasting pioneers, identified as the Broadcasting Beginnings ballot. The eight finalists were: Connie Desmond, Pat Flanagan, Jack Graney, Harry Heilmann, Waite Hoyt, Rosey Rowswell, Ty Tyson and Helfer.

Read the full article here:

Originally published: December 13, 2018. Last Updated: December 13, 2018.