At long last, 1990 Reds make the Hall of Fame

From Tyler Kepner at The New York Times on January 11, 2012:

The 1990 Cincinnati Reds have another victory, their first since Todd Benzinger caught Carney Lansford’s foul pop to win the World Series. With Barry Larkin’s election to the Hall of Fame on Monday, the Reds became the last championship team from the pre-wild-card era to be represented in Cooperstown.

By him going to the Hall of Fame,” his teammate Eric Davis said by telephone on Tuesday, “it’s like we made the Hall of Fame.”

The first postseason with wild cards was 1995; few stars from the champions since then have appeared on the ballot. Of the 90 teams to win the title before 1995, however, all now have at least one player or manager in the Hall of Fame — from the Boston Red Sox of Cy Young to the Toronto Blue Jays of Roberto Alomar and Paul Molitor. With Larkin, the picture is complete.

“Wow,” Larkin said Tuesday. “How about that?”

Read the full article here:

Originally published: January 11, 2012. Last Updated: January 11, 2012.