Baseball Reliquary elects Tommy John, Rusty Staub, Nancy Faust to Shrine of the Eternals in 2018

From SABR member Terry Cannon at Baseball Reliquary on May 4, 2018:

The Board of Directors of the Baseball Reliquary is pleased to announce the 20th class of electees to the Shrine of the Eternals.

Tommy John, Rusty Staub, and Nancy Faust were elected upon receiving the highest number of votes in balloting conducted during the month of April 2018 by the membership of the Baseball Reliquary. The three electees will be formally inducted into the Shrine of the Eternals in a public ceremony on Sunday, July 22, 2018 at the Donald R. Wright Auditorium in the Pasadena Central Library, Pasadena, California.

Of the fifty eligible candidates on the 2018 ballot, Tommy John received the highest voting percentage, being named on 44% of the ballots returned. Following John were Rusty Staub with 29% and Nancy Faust with 26.5%. Runners-up in this year’s election included Bob Costas (25.5%), Leo Durocher (25%), Effa Manley (25%), J.R. Richard (25%), John Young (24%), and Denny McLain (23.5%). Voting percentages for all fifty candidates appear at the end of this announcement.

Read the full announcement here:

Originally published: May 8, 2018. Last Updated: May 8, 2018.