Bloom: Modern Era committee set for Hall of Fame vote on Sunday

From SABR member Barry Bloom at on December 7, 2017, with mention of SABR members Jayson Stark, Steve Hirdt, and Bob Elliott:

When the 16 members of the Modern Era Committee meet for much of the day on Sunday in Lake Buena Vista, Fla., they will have the tough job of deciding the Hall of Fame fate of the 10 candidates on this year’s ballot.

The candidates on the player side are Steve Garvey, Tommy John, Don Mattingly, Jack Morris, Dale Murphy, Dave Parker, Ted Simmons, Luis Tiant and Alan Trammell.

Marvin Miller, the union leader who already was passed over three times by various iterations of the Veterans’ Committee, is also on the ballot. The last time was when the Expansion Era Committee met in late 2013 and unanimously elected managers Joe Torre, Tony La Russa and Bobby Cox to the exclusion of nine other candidates on that ballot, including Garvey, John, Simmons and Parker.

The vote is slated to be announced by Hall president Jeff Idelson this Sunday on MLB Network and at 6 p.m. ET as the Winter Meetings open. Any electees will be introduced at a news conference there the next day.

Read the full article here:

Originally published: December 8, 2017. Last Updated: December 8, 2017.