Dewan: The Flat Bat Award for 2013

From SABR member John Dewan at ACTA Sports on December 9, 2013:

Erick Aybar has won three of the last four Flat Bat Awards, but after his down season that featured only nine sacrifice bunt attempts and a .333 average on bunt-for-hit attempts, the contest is wide open for 2013. To narrow the field, we will first look at which players were most successful on bunt-for-hit attempts.

These players had the best batting averages on bunt hit attempts with a minimum of 10 attempts.


Jarrod Dyson of the Royals paced the field with 18 bunt-for-hit attempts with both Leonys Martin and Starling Marte close behind him with 17 attempts. All performed quite well with batting averages over .500 on those attempts. However, noted-gloveman Jose Iglesias distanced himself from the field with 10 hits on 12 attempts. Jordan Schafer and Martin followed him with a .667 and .647 average, respectively.

Read the full article here:

Originally published: December 9, 2013. Last Updated: December 9, 2013.