Dewan: The Flat Bat Award for 2015

From SABR member John Dewan at ACTA Sports on November 24, 2015:

It’s time again for the Flat Bat Award, which we give annually to the past season’s best bunter. The reigning winner of the Flat Bat Award, Leonys Martin, actually won the Award in both 2013 and 2014. However, poor overall offensive production led the Rangers to demote Martin, and with only 310 major league plate appearances, he was limited to just six bunt hits (on 11 attempts) and three sacrifice bunts.

That means that 2015 will feature a new Flat Bat Award winner. And a new method for determining the winner—more on that below. Here are the top 10 players in bunt run value.

Read the full article here:

Originally published: November 24, 2015. Last Updated: November 24, 2015.