Dewan: Who are the Fielding Bible Award contenders?

From SABR member John Dewan at ACTA Sports on September 26, 2012:

We’re a week away from the close of the regular season, so let’s examine the leading contenders for the defensive awards for 2012. I am one of the ten voters for The Fielding Bible Awards, and what follows are some of my considerations when I fill out my ballot.

This week, I’ll take a look at catchers and infielders. Next week, in Part II, I’ll look at pitchers and outfielders. In the tables below, the numbers next to the player names represent their Defensive Runs Saved.

Catchers: Matt Wieters took the Fielding Bible Award a year ago, unseating Yadier Molina, who won the award the previous four seasons. Well, Molina has reasserted himself, and then some. Molina has saved 17 runs, more than double the 8 of Salvador Perez, the catcher closest behind him. Last year, Molina threw out a career-low 25 percent of baserunners attempting a stolen base. This year, he is at 46 percent, in line with the best years of his career. In addition, his Catcher’s ERA is down to 3.61 from 3.91 a year ago and is 0.69 points better than his primary backup, Tony Cruz. (Note: Salvador Perez is not eligible for The Fielding Bible Award because his first-half injury limited his innings.)

Read the full article here:

Originally published: September 26, 2012. Last Updated: September 26, 2012.