Hagerty: The minor-league playoff series that lasted 19 games

From SABR member Tim Hagerty at The Sporting News on November 10, 2016:

The 2016 World Series was so suspenseful that some fans wished it kept going, maybe even as far as 19 games.

In 1891, Portland won the Northwestern League and challenged California League champ San Jose to a playoff series to determine the champion of the entire Pacific Coast.

“The challenge was accepted,” the 1892 Reach Official American League Base Ball Guide wrote. “The two teams met at San Francisco and vicinity and played 19 games.”

Read the full article here: http://www.sportingnews.com/mlb/news/playoff-series-longest-19-games-san-jose-portland-pacific-coast-1891/j1ozsk3kls7w1kmdf3lxz5x1p

Originally published: November 10, 2016. Last Updated: November 10, 2016.