Kansas Baseball Hall of Fame to honor Negro League players

From Taylor Eldridge at The Wichita Eagle on February 2, 2012, with mention of SABR members Phil Dixon, Jan Johnson and Larry Lester:

The Kansas Baseball Hall of Fame will become a little more comprehensive on Saturday when it introduces a special induction of 14 Negro League players along with Dave Bingham, Darren Dreifort, Bob Homolka, Lee Stevens and Arky Vaughan as its 2012 class.

“We’re trying to give it more texture, in a lot of ways,” said Jim Kobbe, the board of directors member who led the effort to increase Negro Leagues representation in the Kansas Hall. “We’ve been trying to right some of the wrongs, in terms of some forgotten players. I think we’re really getting there, in terms of having a true Hall of Fame.”

A free hour-long reception will start at 10:30 a.m. at the Wichita Sports Hall of Fame. The banquet, which will be held at Hillside Christian Church, begins at noon. Admission is $15.

The 14 players being inducted, all posthumously, are Chet Brewer, Elwood “Bingo” DeMoss, Eddie Dwight, Oscar “Heavy” Johnson, “Topeka Jack” Johnson, Dudley “Tullie” McAdoo, Caroll “Dink” Mothell, John “Buck” O’Neil, Leroy “Satchel” Paige, Wilber “Bullet” Rogan, George Sweatt, Richard Whitworth, Frank Wickware, and T.J. Young.

Read more here: http://www.kansas.com/2012/02/02/2200752/kansas-baseball-hall-of-fame-will.html#storylink=cpy

Read the full article here: http://www.kansas.com/2012/02/02/2200752/kansas-baseball-hall-of-fame-will.html

Originally published: February 3, 2012. Last Updated: February 3, 2012.