Nick Cafardo wins 2020 J.G. Taylor Spink Award

From the Baseball Hall of Fame on December 10, 2019:

Nick Cafardo, who informed and entertained New England’s passionate baseball fan base for more than 35 years up to the last day of his life, was elected the 2020 winner of the J.G. Taylor Spink Award in balloting by the Baseball Writers’ Association of America. His career will be honored with the award that is presented annually to a sportswriter “for meritorious contributions to baseball writing” during the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum’s Induction Weekend July 24-27, 2020 in Cooperstown, N.Y.

Cafardo received 243 votes from the 427 ballots cast by BBWAA members with 10 or more consecutive years’ service in becoming the 71st winner of the award since its inception in 1962 and named for the first recipient. Spink was a driving force of the Sporting News, known during his lifetime as the “Baseball Bible.”

Read the full article here:

Originally published: December 10, 2019. Last Updated: December 10, 2019.