Noel Hynd’s ‘The Final Game at Ebbets Field’ wins 2020 SABR Ron Gabriel Award

Noel Hynd's 'The Final Game at Ebbets Field'SABR is pleased to announce that Noel Hynd’s The Final Game at Ebbets Field, published by Red Cat Tales, has been selected as the winner of the Ron Gabriel Award in 2020.

Hynd, who lives in the Los Angeles area, is an acclaimed author and novelist with many books in the spy/espionage and true crime genres. He is also the author of The Giants of the Polo Grounds and a former contributor to Sports Illustrated and several other national magazines.

The Ron Gabriel Award annually honors the author(s) of the best research, published or unpublished, on the subject of the Brooklyn Dodgers completed during the preceding calendar year. Eligible works include but are not limited to magazine and journal articles, previously unpublished chapters or articles in anthologies or other books with multiple authors, unpublished research papers, written versions of oral presentations, books, databases and websites.

Honorable mention was given to the following:

  • Reclaiming 42: Public Memory and the Reframing of Jackie Robinson’s Radical Legacy, by David Naze (University of Nebraska Press)
  • The Boys of Spring, by Allen Schery (unpublished work)

The award subcommittee included: Gary Sarnoff (chair), Rich Applegate, Gary Cieradkowski, Andy McCue, John McMurray, Tom Bradley, and Ben Klein.

Ron Gabriel (1941-2009), a native of Brooklyn, New York, and longtime resident of Bethesda, Maryland, was a former Vice President of SABR and instrumental in establishing the Bob Davids Chapter, which serves the Washington-Baltimore region. He was founder and president of the Brooklyn Dodger Fan Club, and a charter elected member of the Brooklyn Dodger Hall of Fame. Gabriel, who earned his Ph.D. in Human Resource Management from American University, was a retired U.S. Government executive, having served with the Postal Service Management Institute, the Department of Defense and the General Services Administration.

For a list of past award winners, click here.

Originally published: April 8, 2020. Last Updated: April 8, 2020.