Ohio students win 2020 Lee Allen History of Baseball Award

SABR is pleased to announce the winners of the Lee Allen History of Baseball Award for 2020.

Gianna Santangelo, Rebecca Catlos, and Tory Bobosky of New Middletown, Ohio, won the Lee Allen History of Baseball Award for their interactive exhibit, “A Forgotten Hero: Larry Doby’s Fight to Integrate American League Baseball.”

Since 1996, SABR has honored the best baseball research project at the National History Day competition, an annual event in which students compete on a regional basis, followed by state competition, and then national finals at the University of Maryland.

The award is named in honor of Lee Allen, the historian at the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum from 1950 to 1969. To view a list of past winners, click here.

For more information on National History Day, visit http://www.nhd.org/SpecialPrizeinfo.htm.

Originally published: June 30, 2020. Last Updated: June 29, 2020.