Schuerholz, Selig elected to Baseball Hall of Fame in 2017

From SABR member Craig Muder at the Baseball Hall of Fame on December 5, 2016:

It is the most exclusive team in sports, and it now features two new members.

Today’s Game Era candidates, John Schuerholz and Allan H. “Bud” Selig were elected to the National Baseball Hall of Fame on Sunday, Dec. 4, becoming members 313 and 314 of the Cooperstown shrine.

They will join any members from the BBWAA ballot who can gain election on Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2017. The Class of 2017 will be inducted on July 30 in Cooperstown as the Class of 2017 as part of the July 28-31 Hall of Fame Weekend. The Weekend festivities will also feature the presentation of the J.G. Taylor Spink Award to Claire Smith for writers and the presentation of the Ford C. Frick Award for broadcasting excellence.


Read the full article here:

Originally published: December 9, 2016. Last Updated: December 9, 2016.