image description

SABR Awards

In the 1990s, SABR dramatically expanded its awards program and the recognition it provides for outstanding accomplishment in baseball research. Every year, writers and researchers add to our knowledge and understanding of baseball with quality scholarship in the form of books, articles and other media.

SABR's highest honor, the Bob Davids Award, was established in 1985 and is awarded to the member whose contributions to SABR and baseball reflect the ingenuity, integrity, and self-sacrifice of the founder and past president of SABR, L. Robert "Bob" Davids. The society's oldest honor, the SABR Salute, was awarded from 1976 to 2001.

The annual cycle ends at the SABR convention (nominations are typically due in December or January). The Seymour Medal, the Analytics Conference Research Award, the SABR Baseball Research Award (formerly The Sporting News-SABR award), and the McFarland-SABR Baseball Research Award recognize works completed during a calendar year. The Lee Allen and Jack Kavanagh youth research awards are based roughly on the school year. The Doug Pappas and USA Today Sports Weekly awards recognize presentations at the annual convention.

Three research committees also present annual awards: the Larry Ritter Book Award (Deadball Era Committee), Roland Hemond Award (Scouts Committee), and the George Michael Award (Pictorial History.

The individuals and projects listed here are examples for researchers to follow as they expand our knowledge and understanding of baseball and perhaps achieve recognition for their own work.

Individual Memberships start at just $45/year

Become A Member Today

When you join SABR you are making a statement of support for baseball history. You are joining a worldwide community of people who love to read about, talk about and write about baseball.