2014 Larry Ritter Book Award finalists named

In one of the tightest races in the history of the Larry Ritter Book Award committee, four finalists have been named. 

The finalists for the 2014 award are:

  • David L. Fleitz’s Napoleon Lajoie: King of Ballplayers (McFarland)
  • Mike Lackey’s Spitballing: The Baseball Days of Long Bob Ewing (OrangeFrazerPress)
  • William F. Lamb’s Black Sox in the Courtroom: The Grand Jury, Criminal Trial and Civil Litigation (McFarland)
  • Gerald C. Wood’s Smoky Joe Wood: The Biography of a Baseball Legend (University of Nebraska Press)

The winner will be announced later in March.

Each year, SABR’s Deadball Era Committee presents the Larry Ritter Book Award to recognize the best new baseball book primarily set in the Deadball Era that was published during the previous calendar year.

The Ritter Award Committee consists of Jack Carlson, Mark Dugo, Craig Lammers, John McMurray, Mark Pattison, Gail Rowe (chair), Doug Skipper, and Trey Strecker.

For a complete list of past Ritter Award winners, click here.

Originally published: March 10, 2014. Last Updated: March 10, 2014.