2016 Rawlings Gold Glove Award winners announced

For the fourth consecutive season, the SABR Defensive Index™ was used to help select the winners of the Rawlings Gold Glove Award and Rawlings Platinum Glove Award™, presented by SABR. The SABR Defensive Index accounts for approximately 25 percent of the Rawlings Gold Glove Award selection process that was added to the votes from the managers and coaches.

The 2016 Gold Glove winners were announced on ESPN’s “Baseball Tonight” on Tuesday, November 8.

Click here to view the final SDI rankings for the 2016 season. 

Here are the winners of the 2016 Rawlings Gold Glove Awards, announced Tuesday night:

Position AL winner Team Award     NL winner Team Award
P Dallas Keuchel HOU 3rd     Zack Greinke ARI 3rd
C Salvador Perez KCR 4th     Buster Posey SFG 1st
1B Mitch Moreland TEX 1st     Anthony Rizzo CHC 1st
2B Ian Kinsler DET 1st     Joe Panik SFG 1st
SS Francisco Lindor CLE 1st     Brandon Crawford SFG 2nd
3B Adrian Beltre TEX 5th     Nolan Arenado COL 4th
LF Brett Gardner NYY 1st     Starling Marte PIT 2nd
CF Kevin Kiermaier TBR 2nd     Ender Inciarte ATL 1st
RF Mookie Betts BOS 1st     Jason Heyward CHC 4th


The SDI is compiled by the SABR Defensive Committee, which includes SABR President Vince Gennaro, Sean Forman of Baseball-Reference.com, Ben Jedlovec of Baseball Info Solutions, SABR Director F.X. Flinn, author and defensive metrics expert Chris Dial, and author Michael Humphreys.

The SABR Defensive Index draws on and aggregates two types of existing defensive metrics: those derived from batted ball location-based data and those collected from play-by-play accounts. The three metrics representing batted ball data include Defensive Runs Saved from Baseball Info Solutions, Ultimate Zone Rating developed by noted sabermetrician Mitchel Lichtman, and Runs Effectively Defended based on STATS Zone Rating and built by SABR Defensive Committee member Chris Dial. The two metrics included in the SDI originating from play-by-play data are Defensive Regression Analysis, created by committee member Michael Humphreys, and Total Zone Rating.

Learn more about the SABR Defensive Index and view updated rankings at SABR.org/SDI.


Vote for Rawlings Platinum Glove Award winners:

In 2011, Rawlings introduced the Rawlings Platinum Glove Award to honor the best defender in each League among the Rawlings Gold Glove Award winners in each season.

The SDI’s ability to accurately compare players from different positions will help determine the updated Rawlings Platinum Glove Award, presented by SABR. Fans  continue to have a voice during this process, and can cast their vote for the Rawlings Platinum Glove Award winners.

Tampa Bay center fielder Kevin Kiermaier and St. Louis catcher Yadier Molina won their respective league’s Rawlings Platinum Glove Award last season.


Related link:

Originally published: November 8, 2016. Last Updated: November 8, 2016.