2018 Rawlings Gold Glove Award finalists announced

OCTOBER 25, 2018 — For the sixth consecutive season, the SABR Defensive Index will be used to help select the winners of the Rawlings Gold Glove Award and Rawlings Platinum Glove Award™, presented by SABR. The SABR Defensive Index accounts for approximately 25 percent of the Rawlings Gold Glove Award selection process which are added to the votes from the managers and coaches.

On Thursday, Rawlings announced the finalists for the 2018 Rawlings Gold Glove Award®, honoring the best individual fielding performances at each position in the American League™ and National League™. The winners will be unveiled during a live, one-hour airing of ESPN’s “Baseball Tonight” at 9:00 p.m. ET on Sunday, November 4, 2018.

Following the show, voting will begin online for the Rawlings Platinum Glove Award™, presented by SABR. The Rawlings Platinum Glove Award winners are determined by combining votes based on an adjusted SABR Defensive Index for each of the nine Rawlings Gold Glove Award winners in each League and the votes from baseball fans worldwide. The final SABR Defensive Index rankings will be released on November 4.

The 2018 Rawlings Gold Glove Award® finalists are:

AL finalists

  • P: Corey Kluber (CLE), Dallas Keuchel (HOU), Masahiro Tanaka (NYY)
  • C: Salvador Perez (KCR), Yan Gomes (CLE), Martin Maldonado (HOU)
  • 1B: Matt Olson (OAK), Justin Smoak (TOR), Mitch Moreland (BOS)
  • 2B: Ian Kinsler (LAA/BOS), Rougned Odor (TEX), Jed Lowrie (OAK)
  • 3B: Matt Chapman (OAK), Alex Bregman (HOU), José Ramirez (CLE)
  • SS: Marcus Semien (OAK), Andrelton Simmons (LAA), Francisco Lindor (CLE)
  • LF: Alex Gordon (KCR), Brett Gardner (NYY), Andrew Benintendi (BOS)
  • CF: Adam Engel (CHW), Mike Trout (LAA), Jackie Bradley Jr. (BOS)
  • RF: Mookie Betts (BOS), Aaron Judge (NYY), Kole Calhoun (LAA)

NL finalists

  • P: Clayton Richard (SDP), Julio Teheran (ATL), Zack Greinke (ARI)
  • C: Buster Posey (SFG), Yadier Molina (STL), Manny Piña (MIL)
  • 1B: Anthony Rizzo (CHC), Joey Votto (CIN), Freddie Freeman (ATL)
  • 2B: Kolten Wong (STL), DJ LeMahieu (COL), Javier Baez (CHC)
  • 3B: Travis Shaw (MIL), Nolan Arenado (COL), Anthony Rendon (WSN)
  • SS: Nick Ahmed (ARI), Brandon Crawford (SFG), Freddy Galvis (SDP)
  • LF: Corey Dickerson (PIT), Adam Duvall (CIN/ATL), Christian Yelich (MIL)
  • CF: Lorenzo Cain (MIL), Ender Inciarte (ATL), Billy Hamilton (CIN)
  • RF: Nick Markakis (ATL), Jason Heyward (CHC), Jon Jay (ARI)

To learn more about the SABR Defensive Index, visit SABR.org/SDI.

Originally published: October 25, 2018. Last Updated: October 25, 2018.