2019 Rawlings Gold Glove Award finalists announced

OCTOBER 24, 2019 — For the seventh consecutive season, the SABR Defensive Index will be used to help select the winners of the Rawlings Gold Glove Award and Rawlings Platinum Glove Award™, presented by SABR. The SABR Defensive Index accounts for approximately 25 percent of the Rawlings Gold Glove Award selection process which are added to the votes from the managers and coaches.

On Thursday, Rawlings announced the finalists for the 2019 Rawlings Gold Glove Award®, honoring the best individual fielding performances at each position in the American League™ and National League™. The winners will be unveiled during a live, one-hour airing of ESPN’s “Baseball Tonight” at 7:00 p.m. ET on Sunday, November 3, 2019.

Following the show, voting will begin online for the Rawlings Platinum Glove Award™, presented by SABR. The Rawlings Platinum Glove Award winners are determined by combining votes based on an adjusted SABR Defensive Index for each of the nine Rawlings Gold Glove Award winners in each League and the votes from baseball fans worldwide. The final SABR Defensive Index rankings will be released on November 3.

The 2019 Rawlings Gold Glove Award® finalists are:

AL finalists

  • P: José Berríos (MIN), Mike Leake (SEA), Lucas Giolito (CHW)
  • C: Danny Jansen (TOR), Christian Vázquez (BOS), Roberto Pérez (CLE)
  • 1B: Matt Olson (OAK), Justin Smoak (TOR), Yuli Gurriel (HOU)
  • 2B: José Altuve (HOU), DJ LeMahieu (NYY), Yolmer Sánchez (CHW) 
  • 3B: Matt Chapman (OAK), Alex Bregman (HOU), David Fletcher (LAA)
  • SS: Marcus Semien (OAK), Andrelton Simmons (LAA), Francisco Lindor (CLE)
  • LF: Alex Gordon (KCR), Andrew Benintendi (BOS), Robbie Grossman (OAK)
  • CF: Kevin Kiermaier (TBR), Mike Trout (LAA), Jackie Bradley Jr. (BOS)
  • RF: Mookie Betts (BOS), Josh Reddick (HOU), Kole Calhoun (LAA)

NL finalists

  • P: Jack Flaherty (STL), Zack Greinke (ARI), Aaron Nola (PHI)
  • C: Austin Hedges (SDP), Yadier Molina (STL), J.T. Realmuto (PHI)
  • 1B: Anthony Rizzo (CHC), Paul Goldschmidt (STL), Christian Walker (ARI)
  • 2B: Kolten Wong (STL), Ozzie Albies (ATL), Adam Frazier (PIT)
  • 3B: Nolan Arenado (COL), Josh Donaldson (ATL), Anthony Rendon (WSN)
  • SS: Nick Ahmed (ARI), Paul DeJong (STL), Trevor Story (COL)
  • LF: David Peralta (ARI), Hunter Renfroe (SDP), Juan Soto (WSN)
  • CF: Lorenzo Cain (MIL), Harrison Bader (STL), Victor Robles (WSN)
  • RF: Cody Bellinger (LAD), Bryce Harper (PHI), Jason Heyward (CHC)

To learn more about the SABR Defensive Index, visit SABR.org/SDI.


Originally published: October 24, 2019. Last Updated: October 24, 2019.