2021 Larry Ritter Book Award finalists announced

Each year, SABR’s Deadball Era Committee presents the Larry Ritter Book Award to recognize the best new baseball book primarily set in the Deadball Era that was published during the previous calendar year.

Here is the list of Ritter Award finalists for 2021:

  • Zack Wheat: The Life of the Brooklyn Dodgers Hall of Famer, by Joe Niese (McFarland & Co.)
  • A History of Baseball in the Deadball Era: Volume One 1901 to 1905, by Mark Peavey (independently published)
  • War Fever: Boston, Baseball, and America in the Shadow of the Great War, by Randy Roberts and Johnny Smith (Basic Books)

The winner will be announced in the coming weeks.

First presented in 2002, the Larry Ritter Award is the centerpiece of the Deadball Era Committee’s endeavors and is bestowed annually upon the best work set primarily in the Deadball Era published during the preceding year. The award is named in honor of late SABR member Lawrence S. Ritter, author of The Glory of Their Times, the work that revived interest in the Deadball Era and often cited as the greatest baseball book ever written.

The awards committee is chaired by Doug Skipper, along with John McMurray, Mark Dugo, David Fleitz, Craig Lammers, Mark Pattison, and Ben Klein.

For a list of past Ritter Award winners, click here.

Originally published: April 9, 2021. Last Updated: April 9, 2021.