Bloom: Managers headline Hall of Fame’s Expansion Era ballot

From SABR member Barry M. Bloom at on November 4, 2013:

Three of the greatest managers of their generation — Joe Torre, Tony La Russa and Bobby Cox — headline a 12-man National Baseball Hall of Fame ballot released Monday and to be voted on next month by the Expansion Era Veterans Committee.

Any electees by the 16-member committee will be announced on Dec. 9, during the first day of the annual Winter Meetings, to be held in Orlando, Fla.

The three managers are joined on the ballot by another landmark skipper, Billy Martin, along with players Dave Concepcion, Steve Garvey, Tommy John, Dave Parker, Dan Quisenberry and Ted Simmons. Marvin Miller, the first influential executive director of the Major League Baseball Players Association, and iconic Yankees principal owner George Steinbrenner, round out the ballot.

Miller’s name has previously been on ballots studied by several permutations of the Veterans Committee, and he missed election by a single vote on the first Expansion Era ballot three years ago, two years before his death last November. Steinbrenner, Martin, Concepcion, Garvey, John and Simmons were also on that ballot but didn’t receive the requisite number of votes.

Like any Hall of Fame ballot, a candidate needs to receive at least 75 percent of the vote to be elected. On this committee, that’s 12 votes.

The Expansion Era ballot opens what should be a highly interesting Hall of Fame voting season. The annual players ballot voted upon by eligible members of the Baseball Writers’ Association of America is due to be released on Nov. 25.


The 16-member electorate charged with the review of the Expansion Era ballot consists of SABR member Steve Hirdt of Elias Sports Bureau, along with Hall of Famers Rod Carew, Carlton Fisk, Whitey Herzog, Tom Lasorda, Paul Molitor, Joe Morgan, Phil Niekro, and Frank Robinson; Major League executives Paul Beeston of the Blue Jays, Dave Montgomery of the Phillies, Jerry Reinsdorf of the White Sox and Andy MacPhail, formerly of the Twins, Cubs and Orioles. They are joined by historians Bruce Jenkins of the San Francisco Chronicle, Jack O’Connell, secretary-treasurer of the BBWAA, and Jim Reeves, recently retired from the Fort Worth Star-Telegram.

Read the full article here:

Originally published: November 4, 2013. Last Updated: November 4, 2013.