Cannon: Baseball Reliquary announces 2019 Shrine of the Eternals inductees

From SABR member Terry Cannon at the Baseball Reliquary on May 5, 2019:

On May 5, 2019, the Board of Directors of the Baseball Reliquary announced the 21st class of electees to the Shrine of the Eternals. The Shrine of the Eternals is the national organization’s equivalent to the Baseball Hall of Fame.

J.R. Richard, Billy Beane, and Lisa Fernandez were elected upon receiving the highest number of votes in balloting conducted during the month of April 2019 by the membership of the Baseball Reliquary. The three electees will be formally inducted into the Shrine of the Eternals in a public ceremony on Sunday, July 14, 2019 at the Donald R. Wright Auditorium in the Pasadena Central Library, Pasadena, California.

Of the fifty eligible candidates on the 2019 ballot, J.R. Richard received the highest voting percentage, being named on 27% of the ballots returned. Following Richard were Billy Beane with 26.5% and Lisa Fernandez with 26%. Runners-up in this year’s election included Bob Costas (25%), Mamie “Peanut” Johnson (24.5%), Charlie Finley (24%), Charles M. Conlon (23%), Rube Waddell (22.5%), and Chet Brewer (22%). Voting percentages for all fifty candidates appear at the end of this announcement.

Read the full article here:

Originally published: May 10, 2019. Last Updated: May 10, 2019.