Cooperstown mayor Jeff Katz on 2014 Hall of Fame election results

From Vincent Lombardi Jr. at on January 9, 2014, with SABR member and Cooperstown Mayor Jeff Katz:

On July 27, 2014, six distinguished and legendary first ballot Hall of Famers will have their official place in Cooperstown. Greg Maddux, Tom Glavine, Frank Thomas, Bobby Cox, Tony LaRussa and Joe Torre will all be enshrined into baseball immortality.

This class will alleviate the embarrassment and sadness of there not being any active members inducted into the Hall of Fame in 2013. It will even help with bitterness of those who are connected in anyway towards Performance Enhancing Drugs who didn’t get in last year, or even this year.

July 27 is a day to celebrate the lives and playing or managerial career’s of six of the greatest ever to be involved in this wonderful game.

There is an extra special feel for the Hall of Fame this year. Could it be that we have six of the greatest going in at the same time following an empty year?


But what about the fact that all six are first ballot for the Hall of Fame, or Veterans Committee like Torre, and that it only took them one time for all those involved to say yes, these men are worthy of baseball’s highest distinction; to be a member of the Hall of Fame.

Jeff Katz is the perfect man to serve as Mayor of Cooperstown as he is into the baseball history and the Hall of Fame to as high of a level as anyone possible. His anticipation for July 27, and the meaning for it this year alone, is off the charts.

Read the full article here:

Originally published: January 9, 2014. Last Updated: January 9, 2014.