Heaphy, Nowlin, Levin re-elected to SABR Board of Directors in 2022

SABR members have re-elected Vice President Leslie Heaphy and Directors Bill Nowlin and Allison Levin to the organization’s Board of Directors in the 2022 election.

Leslie Heaphy was elected as SABR’s Vice President, receiving 629 of 909 first-preference votes. Bruce McClure finished runner-up with 280 first-preference votes.

Bill Nowlin and Allison Levin were elected as SABR Directors. Nowlin received 521 first-preference votes and Levin received 295 first-preference votes out of 935 ballots cast. Bill Pearch received 118 first-preference votes.

Heaphy was first elected as a SABR Director in 2010 and has served as Vice President since 2016. She has been a member of SABR since 1989 and chair of the Women in Baseball Committee since 1995. Leslie is an Associate Professor of History at Kent State University at Stark and publishes in the area of the Negro Leagues and women’s baseball. In 2008, she became the founding editor of the journal Black Ball, published by McFarland. She was the 2014 winner of the Bob Davids Award, SABR’s highest honor. She lives in Kent, Ohio.

Nowlin has served as a SABR Director since 2016 and previously as Vice President from 2004 to 2016. He has specialized in Red Sox research since he turned to writing and research in the late 1990s and has written, edited, or co-edited more than 75 books and more than 750 articles, many of which are Red Sox-related. He is one of three founders of Rounder Records, one of America’s most successful independent record labels. A member of the International Bluegrass Music Hall of Fame, he has also traveled widely, visiting more than 125 countries to date, and has occasionally taught courses at Boston-area universities on “Baseball and Politics” and Sportswriting. He was the 2011 winner of the Bob Davids Award, SABR’s highest honor. He lives in Cambridge, Massachusetts.

Levin has served as SABR Director since 2019. She has been a SABR member since 2013 and is an active member of the Women in Baseball and Educational Resources Committees, as well as the Bob Broeg St. Louis Chapter, where she organizes a local research conference every year. She presents her research regularly at local and national SABR events and other sports and academic conferences. She is an adjunct professor of Sports Communications and Sports Management at Webster University, where she sponsors the school’s Sports Media and Analytics Club and mentors students in baseball-related work. She holds bachelor’s degrees in economics and political science from Grinnell College, a master’s degree in applied communications from Southern Illinois University, and a JD degree from Washington University in St. Louis. She lives in St. Louis, Missouri.

Special thanks go out to Tellers Committee members Mike Emeigh, Alex Marks, and Eric Simonsen for certifying the results on June 6 in a virtual meeting and to the Nominations Committee of Anthony Salazar, Melissa Booker, and Clayton Trutor for their help in preparing the candidate statements.

The 2022 SABR elections featured online voting for the 13th consecutive year as well as traditional paper ballots. A total of 935 votes were received, constituting about 13.22 percent of the membership.

SABR members can find complete 2022 election results, including write-in candidates and voting totals, posted here.

A historical list of SABR’s Board of Directors can be found by clicking here. Past voting totals can be found here.

Originally published: June 6, 2022. Last Updated: June 6, 2022.