Jaffe: Evaluating the Modern Era finalists’ Hall of Fame cases

From SABR member Jay Jaffe at Sports Illustrated on November 10, 2017:

On Monday, the Baseball Hall of Fame announced its 10-candidate ballot for the Modern Baseball Era Committee, a slate of nine players and one executive whose greatest contributions to the game occurred during the 1970–87 timeframe. Even for a process designed to reconsider long-retired players not elected via the writers’ ballot (managers, executives and umpires are included as well)— this feels like a particularly reheated slate. Six of the candidates have been considered via at least one Era Committee ballot before, namely Steve Garvey, Tommy John, Dave Parker, Ted Simmons, Luis Tiant and Marvin Miller, the lone non-player. While Don Mattingly, Jack Morris, Dale Murphy and Alan Trammell are all first-timers here, each spent the maximum 15 years on the BBWAA ballot, with Morris the only one coming anywhere close to the 75% needed for election by the end of his run.

Read the full article here: https://www.si.com/mlb/2017/11/10/hall-fame-modern-baseball-era-committee

Originally published: November 10, 2017. Last Updated: November 10, 2017.