Jaffe: JAWS and the 2015 Hall of Fame ballot

From SABR member Jay Jaffe at SI.com on November 24, 2014:

On Monday morning, the Baseball Writers Association of America announced its 2015 Hall of Fame ballot, a slate that adds 17 newcomers to a group of 17 holdover candidates. After electing three first-time candidates (Tom Glavine, Greg Maddux and Frank Thomas) in 2014 for the first time since 1999, the writers’ ballot is again jam-packed with high-profile stars making their debuts, including former Cy Young winners Randy Johnson, Pedro Martinez and John Smoltz as well as batting title winners Nomar Garciaparra and Gary Sheffield.

The full ballot, with the 17 newcomers in bold: Rich Aurilia, Jeff Bagwell, Craig Biggio, Barry Bonds, Aaron Boone, Tony Clark, Roger Clemens, Carlos Delgado, Jermaine Dye, Darin Erstad, Cliff Floyd, Garciaparra, Brian Giles, Tom Gordon, Eddie Guardado, Johnson, Jeff Kent, Edgar Martinez, Pedro Martinez, Don Mattingly, Fred McGriff, Mark McGwire, Mike Mussina, Troy Percival, Mike Piazza, Tim Raines, Curt Schilling, Jason Schmidt, Sheffield, Lee Smith, Smoltz, Sammy Sosa, Alan Trammell, Larry Walker.

By Dec. 27, more than 575 members of the BBWAA will winnowed their lists down to a maximum of 10 candidates and sent in their ballots. The results will announced on Jan. 6, 2015, and the induction ceremony will take place in Cooperstown on July 26, 2015.

Read the full article here: http://www.si.com/mlb/2014/11/24/jaws-hall-fame-ballot-burning-questions

Originally published: November 24, 2014. Last Updated: November 24, 2014.