Lammers: The ‘other’ back-to-back no-hit starts

From SABR member Dirk Lammers at on June 11, 2017:

On Saturday, June 11, 1938, 78 years ago today, the Cincinnati Reds’ Johnny Vander Meer no-hit the Boston Bees at home at Crosley Field. Four days later, he would no-hit the Brooklyn Dodgers at Ebbets Field to become the only major-league pitcher to throw back-to-back no-nos.

To celebrate Vandeer Meer’s accomplishment, we look at the other six times that major-league pitchers have had back-to-back starts with no-hits. None of these outings went nine innings, but Mike Moore, Frank MacCormack, Gary Gentry, Les Cain, Sandy Koufax and Rex Barney all threw back-to-back no-hit starts. The details of those starts generated using‘s superb Play Index are below, and we’ll take a closer look at one each day starting with the most recent.

Read the full article here:

Originally published: June 12, 2017. Last Updated: June 12, 2017.