Levin, Lebowitz, Krieger, Newman elected to SABR Board of Directors in 2024

MAY 2, 2024 — SABR members have elected Allison Levin, Todd Lebowitz, Tara Krieger, and Roberta J. Newman to the organization’s Board of Directors in the 2024 election.

Allison Levin was elected as SABR’s Vice President, receiving 715 of 728 first-preference votes.

Todd Lebowitz was re-elected as SABR’s Secretary, receiving 716 of 722 first-preference votes.

Tara Krieger and Roberta J. Newman were elected as SABR Directors. Krieger received 172 first-preference votes and was elected first in SABR’s simplified preferential voting system after 19 rounds of balloting. Newman received 60 first-preference votes and was elected second after voting preferences were transferred in 18 rounds of balloting. Both Directors will serve a three-year term through 2027.

Director candidate Bill Pearch received 150 first-preference votes, but was outvoted 311-287 in the final round of balloting for the second open seat.

Other candidates and their first-preference voting totals:

  • Peter Coolbaugh (92)
  • Andy Andres (91)
  • Alan Cohen (79)
  • David Firstman (66)
  • Louis H. Schiff (46)

Levin’s election as Vice President creates a vacancy for a Director’s seat, and a candidate will be appointed by the Board of Directors. Any SABR member who is interested in filling the rest of that seat’s term — which begins at the conclusion of the Annual Business Meeting at SABR 52 in August and runs until 2025 — should fill out the candidate statement form and send an email to Mark Armour.  

Levin was elected as a SABR Director in 2019 and re-elected in 2022. She has been a SABR member since 2013 and is an active member of the Women in Baseball and Educational Resources Committees, as well as the Bob Broeg St. Louis Chapter, where she organizes a local research conference every year. She presents her research regularly at local and national SABR events and other sports and academic conferences. She is an adjunct professor of Sports Communications and Sports Management at Webster University, where she sponsors the school’s Sports Media and Analytics Club and mentors students in baseball-related work. She holds bachelor’s degrees in economics and political science from Grinnell College, a master’s degree in applied communications from Southern Illinois University, and a JD degree from Washington University in St. Louis. She lives in St. Louis, Missouri.

Lebowitz was first elected as SABR’s Secretary in 2011. He has been an attorney with Baker & Hostetler LLP in Cleveland, Ohio, since 1997. He has offered pro bono legal counsel to SABR since 2005, advising on numerous matters relating to intellectual property, contracts, personnel, business strategy and implementation. He has performed legal work for the Cleveland Indians, including drafting player contracts and negotiating terms with player agents, some work for Major League Baseball related to trademark enforcement, and conducted a study entitled “The Effect of Financial Rewards on Intrinsic Motivation: A Study of Long-Term Contracts in Major League Baseball”. He has been a member of SABR since 2000, is part of the Baseball Records, Business of Baseball and Latino Baseball committees, and has assisted other members with legal and historical research, including understanding legal terminology and decisions. He holds a BA in psychology and a law degree, both from the University of Michigan. He lives in Solon, Ohio.

Krieger was first elected as a SABR Director in 2021. She has been a SABR member since 2005 and a contributing author to the BioProject and other publications. She has also served as a New Member Ambassador and on the SABR Research Award Committee, and is a frequent attendees at the national convention and Casey Stengel Chapter events in New York City. She is an attorney for the City of New York and a vice-chair of the Board of Directors for Baseball Across America. She holds a B.A. in English and Film from Barnard College and a J.D. from the New York Law School.

This is Newman’s first term as a SABR Director. She has been a SABR member since 2000 and is a past recipient of the SABR Baseball Research Award (2020) and the Negro Leagues Committee’s Robert Peterson Award (2014). She has contributed to several SABR Digital Library books and she serves on the Editorial Board for NINE: A Journal of Baseball History and Culture. She is a Professor of Liberal Studies at New York University. She holds a B.A. in English from NYU, a BFA in Illustration from the Parsons School of Design, an M.A. in English Literature from the University of Chicago, and a Ph.D in Comparative Literature from NYU.

Special thanks to Tellers Committee members Stephen Barnes, Alex Marks, and Eric Simonsen for certifying the results on May 2 in a virtual meeting and to the Nominations Committee of Stew Thornley, Chris Dial, and Joanne Hulbert for their help in preparing the candidate statements.

The 2024 SABR elections featured online voting for the 15th consecutive year as well as traditional paper ballots. A total of 788 votes were received, constituting about 10.7 percent of the membership.

SABR members can find complete 2024 election results, including write-in candidates and voting totals, posted here.

A historical list of SABR’s Board of Directors can be found by clicking here. Past voting totals can be found here.

Originally published: May 3, 2024. Last Updated: May 2, 2024.