SABR 42: Yoseloff Scholarship recipients recognized

SABR is pleased to recognize the recipients of the first Yoseloff Scholarships, which allowed eight high school and college students from across the country to attend the 42nd annual SABR convention in Minneapolis, Minnesota.

With generous funding from The Anthony A. Yoseloff Foundation, Inc., this scholarship is to encourage high school and college-level student engagement with baseball research and to engender an active interest in baseball and SABR. The Yoseloff Scholarship is to assist young researchers who want to attend SABR’s annual convention and to introduce them to fellow SABR members. Through this fund, SABR hopes to inspire future baseball research, expose students to high-quality research and build the research capability of interested students.

The recipients of a 2012 Yoseloff Scholarship were:

  • Hudson Belinsky, Siena College
  • Sarah Calise, University of Florida
  • Will Hailey, Bruton High School, Williamsburg, Virginia
  • Adam Kirsch, Cornell University
  • Coral Marshall, California State University, Long Beach
  • Stephanie Pendrys, University of Sioux Falls
  • Ely Sussman, University of Miami, Florida
  • Jacob Vernick, Communications High School, Wall Township, New Jersey

The students were recognized during the SABR 42 Awards Luncheon on Friday, June 29, 2012.

This scholarship paid for the students’ SABR 42 registration, transportation and lodging up to a total value of $1,000. Students had to be currently enrolled in a high school, college or graduate program; be under 30 years of age; and submit an essay of 750 words or less answering the following questions: “How does attending this conference help you in current and/or future baseball research? Why would this conference be beneficial for you to attend?”

For more information about the Yoseloff Scholarship, contact SABR Director Leslie Heaphy or SABR Director of Operations Jeff Schatzki.

For more coverage of SABR 42, visit

Originally published: July 1, 2012. Last Updated: July 27, 2020.