SABR member Ed Achorn wins prestigious 2016 Yankee Quill award

From the Associated Press on July 7, 2016, with mention of SABR member Ed Achorn:

Four veteran New England journalists and a 19th-century poet, writer and editor have been named winners of the 2016 Yankee Quill award, the six-state region’s highest journalistic honor.

This year’s honorees, announced Thursday, are Edward Achorn, vice president/editorial pages at The Providence Journal; Maura Casey, editorial writer at the Hartford Courant and The New York Times; Brian McGrory, editor of The Boston Globe; and Lincoln McKie Jr., Northeastern University journalism professor and former top editor at The Sun of Lowell and Worcester Telegram & Gazette.

Sarah Josepha Hale, of Newport, New Hampshire, is being honored as a historic figure in journalism. She was the author of “Mary Had a Little Lamb” and an ardent supporter of girls’ education in the early 19th century. Hale was also known as the Mother of Thanksgiving because she pushed to have it recognized as a national holiday. She died in 1879.

The Yankee Quill award is presented annually by the Academy of New England Journalists through the New England Society of Newspaper Editors. Selection is based on a journalist’s influence over the course of a career.

Achorn was honored for his editorials against waste and corruption in government and advocating for the underprivileged.

Read the full article here:

Originally published: July 7, 2016. Last Updated: July 7, 2016.