SABR members to speak at 2014 Cooperstown Symposium on Baseball and American Culture

The 26th annual Cooperstown Symposium on Baseball and American Culture, co-sponsored by the State University of New York College at Oneonta and the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum, will be held May 28-30 at the Baseball Hall of Fame. The conference examines the impact of baseball on American culture from interdisciplinary and multi-disciplinary perspectives. 

Registration Fees: $180 General Fee, $160 Friends of the Hall of Fame Members, $120 Undergraduate/Graduate Students (with student ID) 

Registration fee includes light refreshments each day, a catered dinner in the Hall of Fame Plaque Gallery on Thursday, and a three-day pass to the Hall of Fame. Per diem rates are available for those unable to attend the entire symposium ($50 for Wednesday or Friday, and $100 for Thursday which includes dinner.)

Keynote address: Janet Marie Smith, Senior Vice-President for Planning and Development, Los Angeles Dodgers

Speakers include SABR members Jon Arakaki, Jean Hastings Ardell, Adam Berenbak, William Blake, Thomas Brady, Denis Brennan, Ron Briley, Brian Carroll, John Carvalho, Ira Cooperman, Charles DeMotte, Iva Deutchman, Rob Edelman, Ed Edmonds, Jim Gates, Vince Gennaro, Leslie Heaphy, Tom Heitz, Paul Hensler, Jay Hurd, David Krell, Lee Lowenfish, Bruce Markusen, Ed Mayo, Dobb Mayo, Wayne McDonnell Jr., Todd McDorman, David Moriah, Bill Nowlin, Dave Ogden, Wayne Patterson, Richard Puerzer, Jennifer Ring, Keith Robbins, Matt Rothenberg, Alex Sanders, Curt Smith, Trey Strecker, Bob Tufts, Kevin Warneke, Howard M. Wasserman, and Thomas Wolf.

For more information, and a complete schedule, visit

Originally published: May 21, 2014. Last Updated: May 21, 2014.