Wieczorkiewicz: Dean Chance and the 1960 Fox Cities Foxes

From SABR member Craig Wieczorkiewicz at The Midwest League Traveler on October 18, 2012:

The Society for American Baseball Research (SABR) posted a new biography of 1964 American League Cy Young Award winner Dean Chance today. You can read it here.

In 1960, Chance pitched for the Fox Cities Foxes of the Illinois-Indiana-Iowa League. The Three-I League disbanded on Jan. 7, 1962, and the Foxes (a predecessor of today’s Wisconsin Timber Rattlers) were one of three teams to move to the Midwest League, which began in 1956. (Burlington and Cedar Rapids were the other two teams that moved from the Three-I League to the Midwest League.)

Chance went 12-9 with a 3.13 ERA in 207 IP for the Foxes. His Fox Cities teammates included Boog Powell (.312, 13 HR, 100 RBI in 136 games), Cal Ripken Sr. (.281, 9 HR, 74 RBI in 107 games), Pat Gillick (11-2, 1.91 ERA in 132 IP) and Earl Weaver, who hit .233 in 28 games while also serving as the team’s manager. The Foxes posted an 82-56 record and won the league championship that year.

All five of the players I mentioned are members of the Appleton Baseball Hall of Fame.

Original article here: http://mwltraveler.com/2012/10/18/dean-chance-and-the-1960-fox-cities-foxes/

Originally published: October 18, 2012. Last Updated: October 18, 2012.