Will The Hall Have A Few More Former Indians?

From SABR member Stephanie Liscio at It’s Pronounced “Lajaway” on November 7, 2011:

There have been several former Cleveland Indians announced on the Golden Era Ballot for the National Baseball Hall of Fame.  Outfielder Minnie Minoso, pitcher Luis Tiant and pitcher Allie Reynolds all spent time with the Indians and are on this year’s ballot, the final results of which will be announced on December 5.

A bit of background on the ballot – baseball is split into three eras, the Pre-Integration Era (1871-1946), the Golden Era (1947-1972), and the Expansion Era (1973-the present) for voting purposes.  The Baseball Writers Association of America’s Historical Overview Committee focuses on one specific era and nominates players that may have been overlooked for entry into the Hall of Fame.  Anyone with at least 10 years of service is eligible for consideration on the ballot.

This year there were 10 finalists named from the Golden Era, two executives and eight players – executives Buzzie Bavasi and Charlie Finley, and in addition to the three former Indians, Ken Boyer, Gil Hodges, Jim Kaat, Tony Oliva and Ron Santo will also appear on the ballot.  A player/executive will need 75% of the ballots cast in order to earn induction to the Hall of Fame.

Read the full article here: http://itspronouncedlajaway.com/?p=1076

Originally published: November 9, 2011. Last Updated: November 9, 2011.