10 finalists named for Baseball Hall of Fame’s 2013 Pre-Integration Era ballot

From the National Baseball Hall of Fame on November 1, 2012:

Six former major league players, three executives and one umpire comprise the 10-candidate Pre-Integration Era ballot to be reviewed and voted upon at Baseball’s Winter Meetings for consideration for the Hall of Fame Class of 2013, the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum announced today. 

Samuel Breadon, Bill Dahlen, Wes Ferrell, Marty Marion, Tony Mullane, Hank O’Day, Alfred Reach, Jacob Ruppert, Bucky Walters and Deacon White are the candidates for Pre-Integration Era Committee consideration for election for the Hall of Fame Class of 2013. All candidates will be considered based on the totality of their careers in the game, though Breadon, Reach and Ruppert are included for their contributions as executives, and O’Day is included for his contributions as an umpire. The other six candidates are inclusions primarily for their on-field careers as players. All 10 candidates are deceased. 

Candidates who receive votes on 75 percent of the ballots cast by the 16-member Pre-Integration Era Committee will earn election to the National Baseball Hall of Fame and will be inducted in Cooperstown on July 28, 2013, along with any electees who emerge from the 2013 Baseball Writers’ Association of America election, to be announced on Jan. 9.

Bill Dahlen was selected as the SABR Nineteenth Century Committe’s Overlooked 19th Century Baseball Legend earlier this summer at SABR 42. Deacon White was selected as the Overlooked Legend in 2010.

The Pre-Integration Era ballot was determined this fall by the Historical Overview Committee, comprised of 11 veteran historians: SABR members Bob Elliott (Toronto Sun); Steve Hirdt (Elias Sports Bureau); Bill Madden (New York Daily News); and Tracy Ringolsby (FSN Rocky Mountain); along with Dave Van Dyck (Chicago Tribune); Rick Hummel (St. Louis Post-Dispatch); Ken Nigro, (formerly Baltimore Sun); Jack O’Connell (BBWAA secretary/treasurer); Glenn Schwarz (formerly San Francisco Chronicle); Claire Smith (ESPN); and Mark Whicker (Orange County Register).

The 16-member Hall of Fame Board-appointed electorate charged with the review of the Pre-Integration Era ballot includes SABR members Pat Gillick, Roland Hemond, Steve Hirdt, Peter Morris and Tom Simon; along with Bert Blyleven, Phil Niekro, Don Sutton, Bill DeWitt, Gary Hughes, Bob Watson, Jim Henneman, Phil Pepe, Claire Smith, T.R. Sullivan and Whicker.

For more information, visit BaseballHall.org.


Originally published: November 1, 2012. Last Updated: November 1, 2012.