2014 Rawlings Gold Glove Award winners announced

For the second consecutive season, the SABR Defensive Index™ was used to help select the winners of the Rawlings Gold Glove Award and Rawlings Platinum Glove Award™, presented by SABR. The SABR Defensive Index accounts for 30 total “votes” — or approximately 25 percent of the Rawlings Gold Glove Award selection process — which are added to the votes from the managers and coaches.

The 2014 Gold Glove winners were announced on ESPN’s “Baseball Tonight” on Tuesday, November 4.

Click here to view the final SDI rankings for the 2014 season

Here are the winners of the 2014 Rawlings Gold Glove Awards, announced Tuesday night:

Position AL winner Team Award     NL winner Team Award
P Dallas Keuchel HOU 1st     Zack Greinke LAD 1st
C Salvador Perez KCR 2nd     Yadier Molina STL 7th
1B Eric Hosmer KCR 2nd     Adrian Gonzalez LAD 4th
2B Dustin Pedroia BOS 4th     D.J. LeMahieu COL 1st
SS J.J. Hardy BAL 3rd     Andrelton Simmons ATL 2nd
3B Kyle Seager SEA 1st     Nolan Arenado COL 2nd
LF Alex Gordon KCR 4th     Christian Yelich MIA 1st
CF Adam Jones BAL 4th     Juan Lagares NYM 1st
RF Nick Markakis BAL 2nd     Jason Heyward ATL 2nd


The SDI is compiled by the SABR Defensive Committee, which includes SABR President Vince Gennaro, Sean Forman of Baseball-Reference.com, Ben Jedlovec of Baseball Info Solutions, SABR Director F.X. Flinn, author and defensive metrics expert Chris Dial, and author Michael Humphreys.

The SABR Defensive Index draws on and aggregates two types of existing defensive metrics: those derived from batted ball location-based data and those collected from play-by-play accounts. The three metrics representing batted ball data include Defensive Runs Saved from Baseball Info Solutions, Ultimate Zone Rating developed by noted sabermetrician Mitchel Lichtman, and Runs Effectively Defended based on STATS Zone Rating and built by SABR Defensive Committee member Chris Dial. The two metrics included in the SDI originating from play-by-play data are Defensive Regression Analysis, created by committee member Michael Humphreys, and Total Zone Rating.

Learn more about the SABR Defensive Index and view updated rankings at SABR.org/SDI.


Vote for Rawlings Platinum Glove Award winners:

In 2011, Rawlings introduced the Rawlings Platinum Glove Award to honor the best defender in each League among the Rawlings Gold Glove Award winners in each season.

The SDI’s ability to accurately compare players from different positions will help determine the updated Rawlings Platinum Glove Award, presented by SABR. Fans will continue to have a voice during this process, and can cast their vote for the Rawlings Platinum Glove Award winners.

Atlanta shortstop Andrelton Simmons and Baltimore third baseman Manny Machado won their respective league’s Rawlings Platinum Glove Award last season.


Related links:

Originally published: November 4, 2014. Last Updated: November 4, 2014.