2016 Overlooked 19th Century Baseball Legend primary election

By Adam Darowski

Hello, everyone! 2016 is here and it’s time to start the ball rolling as we choose our Overlooked 19th Century Baseball Legend of the year.

Last year, Tony Mullane (pictured at right) joined previous winners Pete Browning (2009), Hall of Famer Deacon White (2010), Harry Stovey (2011), Bill Dahlen (2012), and Ross Barnes (2013), and Daniel Lucius “Doc” Adams (2014) as SABR’s Overlooked 19th Century Baseball Legends.

Just this past fall, the Hall of Fame’s Pre-Integration Era ballot featured three Overlooked Legends: Dahlen, Stovey, and Adams. They may not have been inducted, but they were the three top vote-getters. Our work is showing a return on investment.

The preliminary voting process, which we call the Overlooked Primary Election, will consist of each voter selecting 10 names from the list of 25 candidates. (If a voter doesn’t select 10 names, the entire ballot does not count.) The top 10 will be presented to the SABR membership in June 2016, when all members will be able to vote in the final election. The winner will be announced at the SABR 46 convention in Miami this summer.

Below is a PDF with the 25 candidates for 2015 and a brief explanation of their baseball accomplishments and/or contributions to our national pastime. You can download the PDF with biographies for the 25 candidates by clicking on the link below:


The voting in the Overlooked Primary Election will end at 11:59 p.m. MST on Monday, January 25, 2016.

The Overlooked 19th Century Baseball Legends Project Committee consists of Charles Faber, Ralph Peluso, Samuel Reich, Bob Gregory, Joe Williams, and myself. On behalf of the committee, thanks to all of the great researchers of the Nineteenth Century Committee and SABR. If not for our members, both past and present, the bios for this project could not have been compiled.

For more information on the Overlooked 19th Century Baseball Legends Project, contact Project Chairman Adam Darowski.

Originally published: January 16, 2016. Last Updated: January 16, 2016.