2020 Rawlings Gold Glove Award winners announced

For the eighth consecutive season, the SABR Defensive Index™ was used to help select the winners of the Rawlings Gold Glove Award and Rawlings Platinum Glove Award™, presented by SABR. Due to the compressed 2020 MLB season, the Rawlings Gold Glove Award qualifications have been amended to rely solely on the SABR Defensive Index, rather than a combination of the SDI and the managers and coaches’ vote.

The 2020 Gold Glove winners were announced on ESPN’s “Baseball Tonight” on Tuesday, November 3.

Click here to view the final SDI rankings for the 2020 season. 

Here are the winners of the 2020 Rawlings Gold Glove Awards, announced Tuesday night:

Position AL winner Team Award     NL winner Team Award
P Griffin Canning LAA 1st     Max Fried ATL 1st
C Roberto Pérez CLE 2nd     Tucker Barnhart CIN 2nd
1B Evan White SEA 1st     Anthony Rizzo CHC 4th
2B César Hernández CLE 1st     Kolten Wong STL 2nd
SS J.P. Crawford SEA 1st     Javier Báez CHC 1st
3B Isiah Kiner-Falefa TEX 1st     Nolan Arenado COL 8th
LF Alex Gordon KCR 8th     Tyler O’Neill STL 1st
CF Luis Robert CHW 1st     Trent Grisham SDP 1st
RF Joey Gallo TEX 1st     Mookie Betts LAD 5th


The SDI is compiled by the SABR Defensive Committee, which includes former SABR Board President Vince Gennaro; Sean Forman of Baseball-Reference.com; Ben Jedlovec, MLB’s Director of Engineering, Data Quality; SABR Director F.X. Flinn; author and defensive metrics expert Chris Dial; and author Michael Humphreys.

For 2020 consideration, pitchers must have pitched at least 50 innings, catchers must have played in at least 29 games and infielders/outfielders must have completed at least 265 defensive innings. Each player qualifies at the position he has played at most (SDI is only for play at qualified position).

The SABR Defensive Index draws on and aggregates two types of existing defensive metrics: those derived from batted ball location-based data and those collected from play-by-play accounts. The three metrics representing batted ball data include Defensive Runs Saved from Baseball Info Solutions, Ultimate Zone Rating developed by noted sabermetrician Mitchel Lichtman, and Runs Effectively Defended based on STATS Zone Rating and built by SABR Defensive Committee member Chris Dial. The two metrics included in the SDI originating from play-by-play data are Defensive Regression Analysis, created by committee member Michael Humphreys, and Total Zone Rating.

Learn more about the SABR Defensive Index and view updated rankings at SABR.org/SDI.


Vote for Rawlings Platinum Glove Award winners:

In 2011, Rawlings introduced the Rawlings Platinum Glove Award to honor the best defender in each League among the Rawlings Gold Glove Award winners in each season.

The SDI’s ability to accurately compare players from different positions will help determine the updated Rawlings Platinum Glove Award, presented by SABR. Fans continue to have a voice during this process, and can cast their vote for the Rawlings Platinum Glove Award winners.

Oakland third baseman Matt Chapman and Colorado third baseman Nolan Arenado won their respective league’s Rawlings Platinum Glove Award last season.

Originally published: November 3, 2020. Last Updated: November 3, 2020.