2022 Rawlings Gold Glove Award winners announced

For the 10th consecutive season, the SABR Defensive Index™ was used to help select the winners of the Rawlings Gold Glove Award and Rawlings Platinum Glove Award™, presented by SABR. The SABR Defensive Index accounts for approximately 25 percent of the Rawlings Gold Glove Award selection process which are added to the votes from the managers and coaches.

The 2022 Gold Glove winners were announced on ESPN’s “Baseball Tonight” on Tuesday, November 1.

Here are the winners of the 2022 Rawlings Gold Glove Awards, announced Tuesday night:

Position AL winner Team Award     NL winner Team Award
P Shane Bieber CLE 1st     Max Fried ATL 3rd
C Jose Trevino NYY 1st     J.T. Realmuto PHI 2nd
1B Vladimir Guerrero Jr. TOR 1st     Christian Walker ARI 1st
2B Andrés Giménez CLE 1st     Brendan Rodgers COL 1st
SS Jeremy Peña HOU 1st     Dansby Swanson ATL 1st
3B Ramón Urías BAL 1st     Nolan Arenado STL 10th
LF Steven Kwan CLE 1st     Ian Happ CHC 1st
CF Myles Straw CLE 1st     Trent Grisham SDP 2nd
RF Kyle Tucker HOU 1st     Mookie Betts LAD 6th
Utility DJ LeMahieu NYY 4th     Brendan Donovan STL 1st


The SDI is compiled by the SABR Defensive Committee, which includes former SABR Board President Vince Gennaro; Sean Forman of Baseball-Reference.com; Mark Simon of Sports Info Solutions; Ben Jedlovec, MLB’s Senior Director, Baseball Data Platform Product; former SABR Director F.X. Flinn; author and defensive metrics expert Chris Dial; and author Michael Humphreys.

“The Society for American Baseball Research is honored to provide the analytical data and statistics each season that help identify the game’s best defensive athletes,” said Scott Bush, chief executive officer for SABR. “We’re proud to play a role in the naming of the Rawlings Gold Glove Award winners and offer our congratulations to all 20 recipients this year.”

Learn more about the SABR Defensive Index and view updated rankings at SABR.org/SDI.

Vote for Rawlings Platinum Glove Award winners

In 2011, Rawlings introduced the Rawlings Platinum Glove Award to honor the best defender in each League among the Rawlings Gold Glove Award winners in each season.

The SDI’s ability to accurately compare players from different positions will help determine the updated Rawlings Platinum Glove Award, presented by SABR. Fans continue to have a voice during this process, and can cast their vote for the Rawlings Platinum Glove Award winners.

Houston Astros shortstop Carlos Correa and St. Louis Cardinals third baseman Nolan Arenado won their respective league’s Rawlings Platinum Glove Award last season.

Originally published: November 1, 2022. Last Updated: November 1, 2022.