Corbett, Goldman win 2018 McFarland-SABR Baseball Research Awards

The 2018 winners of the McFarland-SABR Baseball Research Award, which honors the best articles on baseball history or biography completed or published during the preceding calendar year, are:

The selection committee passed along the following comments about the winners:

  • On Corbett’s article: “Thoroughly researched and well-written. (Looks) at a well-known story/myth and (challenges) a fallacy that is repeated because it’s just too juicy to ignore”; “thoroughly researched and well written, covers the material in detail, wastes no words, and betrays no hint of self-indulgence.”
  • On Goldman’s article: “Incredibly researched and good reading”; “research was amazing.”

The McFarland-SABR Baseball Research Award honors the author(s) of the best articles or papers, published or unpublished, on baseball history or biography completed during the preceding calendar year. Eligible works include magazine and journal articles, previously unpublished chapters or articles in anthologies or other books with multiple authors, and unpublished research papers and written versions of oral presentations. Each winner will receive a plaque and a cash prize of $200.

The awards will be presented at the 48th annual SABR convention, June 20-24, 2018, at the Wyndham Grand hotel in downtown Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.

The selection committee consists of: Len Levin (chair), Phil Bergen, Warren Corbett, Chuck Hilty, and Bill Humber. To submit a nomination for the 2019 awards, please send an electronic copy (or three print copies) of the work, along with the title, author, and publisher information (if applicable) to Len Levin.

For a complete list of winners of the McFarland-SABR Baseball Research Award, click here.

Originally published: May 7, 2018. Last Updated: May 7, 2018.