SABR 47: Celebrate the legacy of Jackie Robinson 70 years after MLB debut

We’re excited to announce another featured panel at SABR 47 in New York City.

The SABR 47 convention will be held June 28-July 2, 2017, at the Grand Hyatt New York in midtown Manhattan. All baseball fans are welcome to attend. Full registration or single-day registration can be purchased online by clicking here or on-site during convention registration hours beginning on Wednesday, June 28 at the Grand Hyatt.

A Celebration of 70 Years: Jackie Robinson’s Journey, scheduled for 9:00 a.m. on Friday, June 30, will explore the legacy of the Brooklyn Dodgers’ baseball pioneer seven decades after he broke the major leagues’ color barrier in 1947. Our panelists are expected to include:

  • William C. Rhoden, columnist and editor-at-large for and former award-winning columnist and author at the New York Times
  • Della Britton Baeza, President and CEO of the Jackie Robinson Foundation
  • Lee Lowenfish, author of Branch Rickey: Baseball’s Ferocious Gentleman
  • Larry Lester, SABR Negro Leagues Committee chair and co-organizer of the annual Jerry Malloy Negro League Conference

They will join an All-Star lineup of featured speakers at SABR 47 that is expected to include: New York Mets GM Sandy Alderson and Manager of Baseball Research and Development T.J. Barra, New York Yankees Sr. VP/Assistant GM Jean Afterman, J.G. Taylor Spink Award winner Claire Smith, former major-league pitcher and Ball Four author Jim Bouton, MLB Official Historian John Thorn, MLB Network’s Brian Kenny, Mark DeRosa, and Joel Sherman, correspondent Lindsay Berra, Driving Mr. Yogi author Harvey Araton, longtime New York Times columnist George Vecsey, sports and political commentator Keith Olbermann, Henry Chadwick Award recipients David S. Neft and Peter C. Bjarkman, former Yogi Berra Museum director Dave Kaplan, authors Mark Armour, Mitchell Nathanson, and Marty Appel, Larry Ritter Book Award winner Glenn Stout, Canadian baseball broadcaster Alain Usereau, and more. Click here to learn more about our featured speakers and panelists.

For more information, visit


Originally published: May 26, 2017. Last Updated: May 26, 2017.