SABR Women in Baseball Committee announces nominees for 2019 Dorothy Seymour Mills Lifetime Achievement Award

SABR’s Women in Baseball Committee established the Dorothy Seymour Mills Lifetime Achievement Award — “The Dorothy” — named in honor of Dorothy Seymour Mills and her lifetime of contributions to promoting women’s baseball.

Here are the nominees for the 2019 award, which will be presented at the committee’s annual meeting at the SABR 49 convention this summer in San Diego:

  • Ila Borders
  • Amanda Clement
  • Lillian Hopkins
  • Effa Manley
  • Penny Marshall
  • Rachel Robinson
  • Justine Siegal
  • Janet Marie Smith
  • Connie Wisniewski

Eligible candidates include any person with a sustained involvement in women’s baseball or any woman with a longtime involvement in baseball in any fashion — player, umpire, writer, executive, team owner, scout, etc. Candidates do not have to be living; it can be awarded posthumously. Self-nominations are accepted.

Umpire Perry Barber was selected as the inaugural recipient of the award in 2018.

For more information on the award, click here. To learn more about baseball historian Dorothy Seymour Mills’s life and career, click here.

Originally published: March 5, 2019. Last Updated: March 5, 2019.