Dorothy Seymour Mills Lifetime Achievement Award (Women in Baseball)

In 2017, SABR's Women in Baseball Committee established the Dorothy Seymour Mills Lifetime Achievement Award — "The Dorothy" — named in honor of Dorothy Seymour Mills and her lifetime of contributions to promoting women’s baseball.

Eligible candidates include any person with a sustained involvement in women’s baseball or any woman with a longtime involvement in baseball in any fashion — player, umpire, writer, executive, team owner, scout, etc. Candidates do not have to be living; it can be awarded posthumously. Self-nominations are accepted.

To learn more about the legendary baseball historian Dorothy Seymour Mills, click here.



2019 nominees

Here are the nominees for the 2019 award, which will be presented at the committee's annual meeting at the SABR 49 convention this summer in San Diego:

  • Ila Borders
  • Amanda Clement
  • Lillian Hopkins
  • Effa Manley
  • Penny Marshall
  • Rachel Robinson
  • Justine Siegal
  • Janet Marie Smith
  • Connie Wisniewski

For more information, click here.


2020 nominations

To submit a nomination for The Dorothy in 2020, please submit a letter of nomination (self or external); supporting letters; list of accomplishments with supporting documentation (including articles written by/about the candidate; book reviews for books written; links to organizations/tournaments/others that the candidate participated in or helped organize); awards received; or other achievements by October 1, 2019, to Dr. Leslie Heaphy by e-mail at or by mail at Dr. Leslie Heaphy, KSU at Stark, 6000 Frank Ave., North Canton, OH 44720.

The winner will be selected by the Dorothy Seymour Mills Lifetime Achievement Award Committee.


Award winners